RSS
Aside
23 May

Rapid Eye Monsters Part 4

Part One, Part Two, Part Three

The trail seemed like the endless road to nowhere, leading us through a loop where everything looked the same. The trees were all symmetrical, like an architect actually built the path. I felt like my head was going to explode with frustration but in my heart I knew it was where we were supposed to go. It was the only way that we were going to survive.

My sister took up the game of kicking a small rock in front of her for the past three miles—yeah I know how to measure distance. Ah, who am I kidding? That was an absolute guess. Nevertheless, it was really starting to bug me. The sound it made as it bounced of the dirt, the dirt it kicked up in the air. Maybe it was just the fact that she found something to occupy her mind, even if it was for a short time.

“Will you cut that out?” I finally spat.

She looked at me for a second, right eyebrow raised high. Then she continued to kick the rock as if I never even said anything. If she wanted to play it that way then I could be way worse.

I ran up to the rock and kicked it as hard as I could, sending it soaring into the woods. There was something really satisfying about watching it disappear amongst the trees. I felt like I would regret that later but right then it was the best feeling I could have had.

“Come on,” she said as she pushed me.

“I asked you to cut it out,” I pointed out, ignoring the fact that she tried to knock me over.

“No, you told me to cut it out.”

“Tomato, tomato.”

“It’s tomato, tomahto.”

“Huh?”

“You said it wrong.”

“Did I? No I didn’t.”

“Yes, you did.”

“Whatever.”

Sometimes having little sister really sucked.

We continued walking, going back to not speaking to each other. It seemed like a good idea since we both hated each other at that moment.

We eventually came to a clearing full of thick grass and colorful flowers—not the really big ones but the small ones you usually see in a field. Something about it just made me feel happy, like I was right that we were heading in the right direction.

“I don’t like this,” Alex said, shrinking back towards the path.

I grabbed her. Not aggressively but just enough to prevent her from running away. That really didn’t sound any better, did it?

“Don’t run,” I begged. “This is where we need to be right now.”

“How do you know?” she asked me, doubt apparent in her voice.

“It’s like it is speaking to me.”

“The field?”

“Sure.

The two of us walked out to the center of the field and then waited. And waited. And waited.

Something was going to happen. I was sure of that. But nothing did.

“I think we should go,” Alex suggested.

“No,” I replied. “I don’t”

Then the sky started to turn black, turning the beautiful field into the seventh circle of hell. There was still some light where we were standing but the edge of the field was pitch black. That is when more of those shadow wolves showed up. This time there were four of them and they were crawling right towards us. They were too close to run without them getting us.

I felt the fear gripping my throat again. I wasn’t able to speak. I wasn’t able to move. We just stood there, waiting to die…

Rapid Eye Monsters: Part Four

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 23, 2016 in Rapid Eye Monsters

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
