RSS
Aside
31 Mar

Misdirection Part Nine

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part EightPart Ten, Part Eleven

The helicopter started firing at us. The bullets were hitting the ground and moving closer and closer to us until they were hitting the ground right in front of the car. Mygle jerked the wheel and took us down a dirt road, narrowly escaping the large bullets that almost tore through the car.

Heading down the crappy, dirt road, we were bouncing around the car like a bunch of idiots. I would have yelled at Mygle but I was a little more focused the helicopter that was trying to kill us. At least there was a lot of cover from the trees.

“What the hell we do?” Mygle asked. “We can’t outrun them.”

“We have to find a way,” I replied to him.

“I could just teleport.”

“If you wanted to do you wouldn’t be here in the first place.”

I heard a whimper come from the back seat.

“What are we supposed do?” Alex asked me with tears in her eyes.

“I don’t know,” I admitted to her. “But we are going to get out of here alive.” I meant that.”

She nodded her head but it didn’t look like she really believed me this time. I honestly wasn’t even sure if I believed myself. I could still hear the chopper somewhere above us but the trees were so thick that I couldn’t even see it.

“Wait,” I practically shouted. “I have an idea.”

“What?” Mygle asked.

“You’re right, you can teleport.”

He stared at me waiting for me to say more. “And?”

“How far do you think you can drive without getting killed?”

Mygle shook his head. “I don’t know what’s your point.”

I didn’t reply. Instead I waited. I waited for him to understand what I was getting at, which despite his terrible English I knew he was smart enough to figure out.

“You’re crazy,” he said, finally figuring out what I was planning.

“There’s plenty of cover from the trees,” I pointed out to him.

“If you are going to do it then do it now.”

“What’s going on?” Alex asked, not catching on to the plan.

I turned around to face her. “We have to jump out of this car.”

“No.” Tears started to reform in her eyes.

“We have to, okay? Mygle keeps driving long enough to get them off of our tail and teleports out of there. When everyone gets past us we skip out of town the other way, maybe even get back to our car.”

“I don’t want to.”

“We have to.”

She sobbed but shook it off as she nodded her head, understanding what we had to do.

“Quickly,” Mygle urged us.

“Just go,” I said.

The two of us jumped out of the car. When we hit the ground we hit hard. With her foot and my shoulder we were both in horrible shape so that definitely didn’t help us.

We quickly found a good place to hide and waited for all of the cars to pass by, and there were a lot. Once I was sure the last one went by we came out of hiding.

“We have to move fast,” I said to her.

“Back to the car, right?” she asked, figuring that I might have other plans in mind. I did of course.

“Not yet. We are going to pay that little twerp Arthur a visit…”

Misdirection: Part Nine

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 31, 2016 in Misdirection

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
