RSS
Aside
14 Mar

Misdirection Part Seven

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part SixPart Eight, Part Nine, Part Ten, Part Eleven

I haven’t really killed anybody before, even those people at that crazy carnival, because I don’t think that is my choice to make, but those agents gave me no choice. It was either my sister and I or them, and I was not in the mood to die that day.

There was lull where there weren’t any agents shooting at us so we needed to take advantage of the situation. I took Alex by the arm.

“No,” she cried, “I can’t. It hurts.”

It was her first time getting shot and to be fair it was by a very big gun. I wasn’t even sure that the toes that were shot off would even come back.

“I know it hurts,” I said to her, trying to give her some strength, “but we need to get out of here before they kill us, which they are definitely going to do. I can carry you, okay?”

She nodded her head. I picked her up and just ran, as fast as I could while carrying an 11-year-old and with a bullet in my shoulder. Not really an easy task to do but let’s remember that this is me we’re talking about.

I ran through the woods, further away from the car than I wanted to get but there was no way that we could take that car anyway. There was literally nowhere to go.

“What are we going to do?” Alex asked me through her tears.

“I don’t know,” I admitted to her. “I’ll figure it out.”

“They are going to kill us.”

“No they won’t. I won’t let them.”

“I want to go home. I miss my mommy and daddy.”

It was then that I looked in her eyes and was reminded of how young she really is. This was too much for someone her age. She lost the only family she ever knew and was thrown into a world where nightmares come alive, a world of constant pain and horror. I might shrug off a lot of it but it really isn’t the most pleasant life to have. She reminded me how young I was when it happened and what it was like for me when I started. I had a good idea of what she was going through.

I kept my pace as I began to talk.

“I know this is scary,” I began, “that it feels like this is the end, but I promised you that I would never let anything happen to you and I meant it. I will keep you safe and get you out of this.”

The tears kept coming but she nodded her head like the trooper that she is.

An agent jumped out from behind a tree with his gun pointed right at us. I threw Alex up in the air and leapt into a barrel roll as the agent fired the gun. As the bullet flew by me I brought my foot down right into the agent’s face, most definitely breaking his nose and knocking him unconscious. When I landed I grabbed my sister as she fell back down and continued running. She suddenly stopped crying.

“Whoa,” she breathed.

“Yeah,” I agreed.

“That was badass.”

“I know.”

It was pretty cool.

We were nearing the edge of the woods to what looked like a main road. I could only imagine what would be waiting for us. That is exactly what I thought right before the car pulled up right next to us. When the door opened up I really didn’t expected to see who I saw in the driver’s seat…

Misdirection: Part Seven

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 14, 2016 in Misdirection

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
