RSS
Aside
18 Feb

Misdirection Part Five

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part Nine, Part Ten, Part Eleven

I looked over at Roy who sported a smile that just screamed, “I got you.” I wanted to punch that smile right off of his face and light the damn thing on fire. I still can’t get over the fact that I fell for that jackass’s con.

I closed the distance between my sister and I so that we could get out as quickly as possible, but with the amount of guns pointed at us I wasn’t really sure how we were going to do that. There was always a way, though.

Roy walked forward, knowing that I wouldn’t kill him yet because then we would be dead as well. He is such an arrogant moron. Lenny was standing behind him with the rest of the agents, smiling.

“Where’s Kelly?” Roy asked me as he was trying to look behind us, like she was hiding.

“You used Arthur didn’t you?” I asked him, ignoring his question. Arthur was cowering behind Lenny. Alex looked hurt and betrayed. I really didn’t want to tell her “I told you so.”

“I told you so,” I said to her. Okay, you got me, I really did want to say that to her.

Alex whipped her head around to glare at me but I didn’t pay any attention to it.

“He was very helpful,” Roy explained with pride. “There really was a vampire in the area, so we got here first and killed it. Then we persuaded him to put out the report about the vampire sighting.”

“So I’m guessing that the vampires didn’t really kill your dog?” I asked Arthur. He didn’t respond but just cowered even further behind Lenny. “Little prick.” I added that last part under my breath. I could smack that kid.

“You’ve gone on long enough,” Roy said to me matter-of-factly. “Now, where is Kelly?”

“Somewhere you’ll never find her,” I lied to him.

“Do us all a favor and just tell me.”

“I don’t think so, no.”

“Okay, Wes. Have it your way.” He walked away from me. “Kill them.”

Everyone was ready to shoot, but I couldn’t let us die like that.

“Coward!” I shouted at him.

Roy turned around to face me. “Excuse me?”

“You heard me, you coward. If you want us dead do it yourself.”

He pondered it for a moment, rolling his tongue in his mouth.

“You know what, you’re right,” he stated, pulling his gun out. “Any last words?”

“Yeah,” I replied, but didn’t say anything else.

Roy stared at me.

“Well?” he asked.

“Well what?” I replied.

“Your last words?”

“Oh yes, that.”

I cleared my throat.

“Duck!” I shouted. Miraculously everyone actually ducked or jump out to the side, giving my sister and I the window we needed.

The two of us took off, running around the hill the cave was carved into, but right before I rounded the corner Roy got a shot off and hit me right in the shoulder…

Misdirection: Part Five

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 18, 2016 in Misdirection

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
