RSS
Aside
06 Feb

Misdirection Part Two

Part OnePart Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part Nine, Part Ten, Part Eleven

The town was an absolutely crap-hole. I mean, I have been to some pretty awful places, including the town full of werewolves. Okay, fine. This place wasn’t as bad as that but it was still not somewhere I wanted to spend a vacation at. Vacationing is something that I have not done since before my parents were killed. Sorry, I got a little off track there.

The town wasn’t exactly small but it was just in terrible shape. It wasn’t in the back swamps like the town Kelly and I blew up but all of the buildings looked like they were going to fall apart from years of termite damage. The people themselves—the ones walking around anyway—looked well enough but it just looked like the town was deprived of any sort of budget whatsoever. It was a perfect place for vampires to attack. It was nestled somewhere in the center of Montana, which believe it or not is a state I haven’t visited too much.

Alex and I found a big enough parking lot to keep the car for the time being, since I didn’t want to stay any place in the town. Then we began our search, which believe it or not didn’t take us that long.

The site that posted about the vampires was from right out of this town. That seemed strange to me since there seemed to be no money to support anything, but then again websites won’t exactly break the bank.

We headed to the house where we traced the post from.

“This place sucks,” Alex complained.

“You’re going to see that a lot,” I let her know, drowning any hopes of seeing nice places. I think she kind of figured that out herself.

“You think this is some dork living in his mom’s basement?”

Man, girls are so mean.

“Probably,” I agreed with a laugh. Hey I never said I was the nicest person in the world.

I knocked on the front door and seconds later it whipped open. Well, only part way because it had one of those chain locks. There was boy that we could see through the crack of the door that the chain link would allow. He looked to be not much older than Alex.

“Hi,” I said in the nicest voice that I could.

“Hi,” he said back in a somewhat sheepish voice.

“I’m looking for Arthur Gildhardt?”

There was a flash of fear in his eyes, more than there already was anyways.

“What about him?” he asked me.

“We wanted to talk to him about the vampire post,” I answered him.

“Are you here to make fun of me…I mean him too? Crap.” He muttered that part under his breath.

“No we are not. I just wanted to see what you know. Or what Arthur knows.”

He shut the door, unlinked the chain and opened the door up for us.

“Come in,” he said as he started walking deeper into the house. It was weird for him to just trust us like that.

As we entered the door we passed by the living room and there was a woman snoring on the couch with the TV on. All of the blinds were closed and it was a cloudy day, so the only light was coming off of the TV.

“She won’t wake up,” he promised and continued into the basement. I laughed to myself.

Alex had been oddly quiet. I nudged her.

“You okay?” I asked her.

“Yeah,” she replied, nodding her head a little too much.

“Okay then.”

Arthur led us into a basement that looked like it was his bedroom with a TV, computer and a bunch of gaming equipment. He sat on the chair in front of his computer and just started typing.

“What can you tell us about the attacks?” I asked him, breaking the awkward silence.

“Nothing more than what I wrote on the website,” he replied

“How do you know they are vampires?”

That seemed to trip him up a little bit. “I saw them,” he said. “They chased me to my house, but they didn’t come in because I didn’t invite them.”

“Nope, they don’t need to be. If they didn’t follow you in either you are lucky or lying.”

“I’m not lying. Bald guys, sharp teeth, extremely pale?”

Alex laughed, like a really stupid laugh. I looked over at her and shrugged my shoulders. She quickly stopped herself and her face was beat red.

“Sorry,” she apologized. I think she liked him. That’s just great. That’s exactly what I needed to deal with.

“Look,” he began, tears starting to well up in his eyes, “they killed my dog, okay?”

“I’m sorry,” I said to him. “We are here to stop them, I promise you.”

We were definitely going to stop them, that and a whole lot more…

Misdirection: Part Two

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 6, 2016 in Misdirection

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
