RSS
Aside
30 Nov

Rise Above Part Eleven

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part Nine, Part TenPart Twelve, Part Thirteen, Part Fourteen, Part Fifteen, Part Sixteen

I ran toward the sound of the blood-curdling scream to stop the zombies before they could do some real damage inside that building. The only thing was that when I got to where the scream erupted from there were no zombies, just a little red devil.

“Mygle!” I practically shouted.

“WHAT IS THAT?!” someone shouted.

“SHOOT IT!” someone else yelled.

One of the cops took out his gun and pointed it right at Mygle’s head.

“Whoa,” I said as I stepped in front of the cop so he couldn’t shoot my friend. Yikes. I just referred to Mygle as my friend. “Please don’t do that.”

“Get out of the way or I’ll shoot you too,” the cop warned me.

“I can’t let you shoot him.”

“He’s with the zombies.”

“No, he’s not. He’s with me and I promise that he is not going to kill you.”

Everyone looked like they definitely didn’t believe me, and to be fair if I were in their shoes I would think the creature that looked like a little red devil would want to kill me. Especially after they were just attacked by a bunch of zombies.

“I need you to trust me,” I begged the frightened crowd.

“I still say we shoot it!” someone else shouted.

“You need to disappear,” I whispered to Mygle.

“But I need to talk,” he tried.

“Meet me on the roof.”

With that he was gone. Everyone started searching for Mygle in a panic, not really sure how he just disappeared into thin air.

“He’s gone,” I assured everyone.

“Why should we trust you now?” a man asked me. “You were with that thing.”

“I’m going to save all of you.” I turned around and walked in the other direction. Luckily no one followed me. “Where’s the mayor?” He was nowhere to be found.

I searched through the crowds trying to find the mayor so I could see if he had made any progress. I couldn’t find him so I searched for the most important person I could find, which ended up being a police officer.

“Listen,” I began, “I told the mayor to get all of the entrances and exits boarded up as best as possible.”

“Okay,” he replied, too frightened to argue with me.

“Can you make sure that gets done?”

“Yeah, yeah.”

“Okay. I need to get to the roof to take a look at the situation.”

“Right, okay.”

I left him, hopeful he would do a better job than the mayor did, and headed towards the roof. Eventually I found the stairway that led to the roof.

The sounds of the zombies from the outside already reached my ears before I opened the door. For the longest time I stood in front of the door, not really wanting to open it.

I’ve dealt with zombies before, but nothing like what I saw before I walked into that building or what I heard outside. I wasn’t really sure how I was supposed to stop it or if there were any stragglers that had already gotten away.

“Dammit, Wes,” I said out loud to myself. “What the hell have you gotten yourself into?”

I opened the door and stepped through. The sound was almost deafening, surrounding me like a thick cloud of smoke that I couldn’t get through. I reached the edge of the roof and looked over: the place was completely surrounded with nowhere to go.

“Crap…”

Rise Above: Part Eleven

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 30, 2015 in Rise Above

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
