RSS
Aside
02 Nov

Rise Above Part Eight

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part SevenPart Nine, Part Ten, Part Eleven, Part Twelve, Part Thirteen, Part Fourteen, Part Fifteen, Part Sixteen

The zombies weren’t too far behind us so I had about five minutes to explain to these people that they were all about to die unless they listened to me. I’ve been able to do some pretty incredible things in my day so that shouldn’t be too hard, right?

I looked over at Mygle and realized that the crowd wouldn’t pay attention to me at all with a little, red devil looking thing standing next to me.

“Yeah,” he began, “I know.” With that he disappeared.

Frantically I searched around for a way to get these peoples’ attention. There was a stage with a microphone that I hoped was on. When I got to it I tapped on the mic a couple times and a sound came from the speakers. There was a lot of music playing but I just tried to yell louder.

“Hello,” I said into the microphone, but no one seemed to hear me.

“HELLO!!!” I shouted as loud as I could.

Some of the people started to notice me and the music suddenly cut off.

“Hello,” I said again, this time grabbing everyone’s attention. A jolt of fear and anxiety rushed through me as I realized that the entire town was staring at me. Time was limited, though.

“Okay,” I continued. “We don’t really have enough time so I am going to make this brief: there is a boat load of zombies that are about to come running out of those woods. We need to move fast.”

Everyone stared at me like I was a crazy person. I kind of would have expected everyone to laugh at me but this isn’t like the movies. Everyone looked very, very angry or confused.

“Is this part of the festival?!” someone shouted.

“Excuse me, son?” a police officer called to me. “You need to step off the stage right now.”

“I’m not kidding,” I said through the microphone. “If you don’t start running you people are going to die.”

Some people looked frightened at that point rather than confused.

“Son,” the police officer repeated. “Now.”

That is when the first zombie came running out of the woods like it was on a mission. Of course it was on a mission: to eat as many people as it could.

“I warned you,” I told them as I pointed at the zombie.

“What is that?” someone asked.

“A zombie.”

At first everyone just stared, not really sure if what they were looking at was real or not. I think it was when the rest of the zombies came out like a swarm of bees that reality sank in.

“Get to cover now!” I yelled into the microphone.

Everyone started running like their lives depended on it, which they did. It all happened so fast that I wasn’t even sure where to begin. All of the zombies started eating the people and tearing the flesh from their bones.

Mygle appeared next to me.

“That went well,” he said.

“Not really,” I admitted.

“I know.”

“Start fighting.”

We jumped into the crowd and started cutting down the zombies. It was bad enough when they were rising from the grave but now that they were eating people they were going to spread even quicker. This had gone from bad to worse really quick…

Rise Above: Part Eight

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 2, 2015 in Rise Above

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
