RSS
Aside
30 Sep

Rise Above Part One

Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part Nine, Part Ten, Part Eleven, Part Twelve, Part Thirteen, Part Fourteen, Part Fifteen, Part Sixteen

All my sister and I did after we left the mall was train. I was underestimating how useful she could really be and I did not intend to make that same mistake again. She was getting quicker and stronger with each time that we fought each other. I’m not going to say that she could actually beat me—let’s not get ahead of ourselves—but that she was definitely getting better.

After driving halfway across the country to put some distance between the mall and us before the agency showed up. We were both trying to forget the fact that so many people had died that day because of us. I figured with Larry gone that it wouldn’t be a problem anymore but I was obviously wrong. I was going to find that Coven and destroy every last one of them.

Before we left the mall Helena, with her last bit of strength, wrote down the word “Fortel” with her own blood. Neither of us had any idea what that meant but I could only assume it was a name. I did some research but I couldn’t find anything.

We had just finished training and were heading back to the hotel room.

“Good job,” I said to her.

“When do you think I get a weapon?” she asked, ignoring my congratulations.

“I don’t know.”

“Where did you get yours?”

“Drake took me to get them.”

“Where?”

“It was a very hidden place.”

“Where?”

“Alright, alright. It’s a small town in Tennessee, buried in a bunker in the woods.”

I jumped on the computer to find the place I was describing to her. I found it and pointed it out to her. We were only a few hours away from there.

“Right there,” I said to her, pointing at the computer.

“Have you been there in a while?” she asked me.

“No.”

“Why not? Why not get some more weapons?”

“It’s not that simple.”

“Why not?”

I turned to her. “You can’t just walk in and grab whatever you want. The door doesn’t just open up.”

“Then how do you get in there?”

“I don’t. You do.”

She looked at me like I had three heads sprouting from my neck. I could see how that could be confusing to her, and to all of you. If you would just be a little patient I will get into it.

“I’ve already been in there,” I explained to her. “You can only go in once and only if you’re a paladin.”

“What is it, magic?” she asked me.

“I don’t know what it is but I won’t be able to get in there. Believe me I’ve tried.”

I have tried. I went back to that place a couple of times hoping to get in there even though Drake told me that I couldn’t. But, now that my sister was with me I had another reason to go there again.

“Let’s go get me something then,” she ordered me.

I worried that she wasn’t old enough to have her own weapon. I was older than she was then when I got mine but the way things were, maybe she was ready.

“I guess we can go there,” I finally replied.

“Good,” she said. “We can get going as soon as I shower.”

She walked away without saying another word. Soon we left and headed for that small town in Tennessee. We probably should have waited for another day…

Rise Above: Part One

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 30, 2015 in Rise Above

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
