RSS
Aside
18 Sep

The Good Witch of the East End Mall Part Fourteen

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part Nine, Part Ten, Part Eleven, Part Twelve, Part Thirteen, Part Fifteen

There was a reason I never went to crowded places, especially a shopping mall. There is no way it could end well for my sister or me. Every bone in my body screamed at me to ignore the message that Helena magically—literally—wrote on the bathroom mirror, but there was something inside me that told me it was the right thing to do. That part of me was not present at that moment.

More and more cracks appeared on the magical bubble protecting us from the angry spirits trying so desperately to kill us. I wondered if they were all really angry or if it was witches influencing them, but they sure looked mad.

I wrapped my sister in my arms and we both knelt on the ground as the bubble began to shrink.

“Wes,” she cried.

“I’m sorry,” I apologized.

“I don’t want to die.”

I didn’t have anything to say back to her–no words of encouragement or anything. I didn’t see any way out of this. The few people that were in the bubble with us looked even more terrified than we were.

“I can’t hold this any longer,” Helena warned us.

“Wait!” Alex shouted. “Why don’t we shine that bright light?”

I looked at her like she had three heads.

“They’re ghosts,” I pointed out. “Even if they weren’t there are so many of them.”

“Does it not work on ghosts?” she asked me.

I looked at her for a second trying to figure it out. “I don’t know.”

“Shouldn’t we try?”

I looked over at Helena, who just shrugged her shoulders at me.

“Okay,” I finally caved. “Let’s try.”

We both stuck our hands out.

“Ready?” I asked Alex.

“Yeah,” she replied.

“Now!”

We shined our bright light at the ghosts who scattered like I just hit them with a patronous charm. Yeah, I read sometimes. Just kidding, I watched the movies.

“RUN!” I shouted.

Everyone took off like bats out of Hell for the back door. I grabbed Helena and helped her. She looked very groggy from protecting all of us. It was clear that she wasn’t trying to kill either of us or we’d be dead by now.

We were getting close to the back doors.

“We won’t be able to get out!” Alex yelled as the ghosts were gaining on us.

“Just keep going!” I yelled back.

I felt a jerk as one of the ghosts tried to rip Helena out of my hands, but I pulled her in. I pulled out one my guns and shot the glass doors out so we could go through. Luckily they shattered and we all made it through, even the couple of people that were with us.

The ghosts didn’t follow us outside and the witches were gone. It didn’t make any sense.

“That was close,” I said as I turned to Helena. I looked down and there was blood all over me, coming from Helena’s stomach…

The Good Witch of the East End Mall: Part Fourteen

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
