RSS
Aside
12 Sep

The Good Witch of the East End Mall Part Twelve

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part Nine, Part Ten, Part ElevenPart Thirteen, Part Fourteen, Part Fifteen

I had a split second to act but needed at least 30 to do anything. In that time I realized that Helena was not trying to hurt my sister because she was just as surprised to see the sign falling towards her. Then something happened that I didn’t expect.

Alex pushed Helena off to the side and then did a barrel roll to get out of the way. The sign crashed to the ground and broke into a bunch of pieces, but no one was hurt. I ran up to Alex with my eyes wide open, surprised that she even knew what to do.

Everyone around us was freaking out, given the fact that a giant sign fell and no one could really see that well. I think anyone would be in a bit of shock after something like that. I ignored them, though.

“Wow,” I said.

“What is wrong with you?” she asked me.

“What do you mean?”

“You just shot a sign and tried to crush us.”

“I was trying to crush her sister.” I pointed at Helena.

“No, we were running to you calling your name and then you shot the sign right above us.”

“You forget we are dealing with witches.”

Helena stepped up next to us.

“They were obviously messing with your mind,” she said to me. “I’m guessing you couldn’t see anyone here except the witches?”

“Yeah,” I replied.

“Typical of the coven. Takes a lot of power to do something like that.”

“I’m guessing that they weren’t even really there, were they?”

“No.”

“Then how were they able to knock me through a window? And there was a little girl that looked like a ghost.”

“Knocked you through a window? They wouldn’t have enough strength for that.”

“What does that mean?”

“I’m not sure.”

“Whatever it is, we need to get out of here.”

The two of them agreed with me and we headed back to the front of the store. There were more people gathered there, trying to get out but failing miserably. I could see most of the faces due to my ability to see in the dark and they looked panicked. Anyone in that type of situation would be feeling the same way.

“Why is everyone using their phones to see?” Alex asked us. “It’s not even that dark.”

“That’s because we can see in the dark better than they can,” I explained to her.

“Oh.”

Helena pushed through the crowd like they were nothing to get to the door, which was still very much locked.

“Did you actually expect it to open this time?” I asked her

She ignored me as the door started glowing, illuminating the crowd at the front door. Everyone backed away from us like the entire front was going to explode.

“What are you doing?” I asked her.

“Blowing the door right open,” she told me.

“Why didn’t you just do this before?”

“I couldn’t. They were using too much power.”

“So why now?”

“Because they expelled a lot of energy faking you out.”

There was a sudden force that knocked all of us back on the ground and the door was no longer glowing. After I pushed myself up into a backflip I looked outside. There was no police or ambulance like I would have expected but Lassie and a bunch of other witches and warlocks. The clouds were dark and ominous.

“Uh oh,” Helena said.

“What?” I asked her. I noticed that she was looking up to the second level.

Looking over the railings down at all of the people below were hundreds of ghosts…

The Good Witch of the East End Mall: Part Twelve

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
