RSS
Aside
02 Sep

The Good Witch of the East End Mall Part Nine

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part EightPart Ten, Part Eleven, Part Twelve, Part Thirteen, Part Fourteen, Part Fifteen

Why was it that every time I turned my back my sister was gone? It was like she did everything she could to make me worry. Now I was going to have to search for her in this giant mall in the dark. I really hate malls.

I walked back through the shop Helena had first taken us to and back out into the main section. People were starting to panic.

“I can’t get a signal,” someone shouted.

“What is going on?” another person asked.

Those people had no idea what was going on and I could only hope that they wouldn’t find out.

I navigated through the maze of people and shops searching for any sign of my sister or a witch or a warlock. Given what I had seen of the group we had just run into there was no telling the difference between them and a human. That certainly made my job a lot harder.

I reached the end of the mall and there was still no sign of my sister or Helena. I had definitely been set up.

“Crap!” I shouted as I kicked a trashcan over.

“Whoa, dude,” a kid said, putting up his hands. He might have been a couple years older than me.

“What?” I got right up in his face.

“Calm down, man.”

“Or what?”

“You better back up, bro.”

“I’m not a dude, or a man or your bro.”

He smiled and I just realized that I said I wasn’t a man.

“Don’t push me,” I said as I gave him a slight push.

“Back off little man or I’ll make you regret it,” he warned me.

There were a couple people watching us, waiting for something to happen. I’m sure it would have been a nice distraction from the horror that had captured that mall, but I couldn’t fight him right then.

“Forget it,” I sighed as I walked passed him.

“Keep walking,” he taunted as his friends laughed.

I’m not a fan of destruction of public property but I need to let that kid know that he had nothing on me. As I passed by a wooden bench I lifted my leg up and stomped through it like it was Styrofoam. All of them stopped laughing. I felt a twinge of satisfaction.

I walked far enough away so the people around me didn’t know what I had done. I then decided to start searching the stores. The first one I walked through was some electronic shop I had never heard of. Something told me that it wouldn’t matter in a few years anyway. There was no one in there, or so I thought.

“Wes,” someone called from behind me.

I turned around to see a little girl in a white dress standing behind me at the front of the store. Her face was almost as pale as the dress she was wearing with eyes as blue as the sky. She was smiling. It sent chills up and down my spine. It was the creepiest thing I had ever seen.

“Who are you?” I asked her.

She laughed and ran out the door.

“Wait!” I shouted and ran after her. When I got back out to the main area it was completely empty. There wasn’t a single person in that mall.

“Not good…”

The Good Witch of the East End Mall: Part Nine

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
