RSS
Aside
27 Jul

Hairy Situation Part Nine

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part Ten, Part Eleven, Part Twelve, Part Thirteen, Part Fourteen

A bear just spoke. You would think with the life that I lead that I would be used to something like that but I have never seen a normal animal talk before.

“Did that thing just talk?” Alex asked as she started to back away.

One of them started sniffing in the air.

“I can smell the fear,” it said. Their voices were deep and completely indistinguishable from each other.

“What is this?” Kelly asked me in a hushed tone.

“I’m not sure,” I replied.

“They whisper as if we can’t hear them,” one of the bears said. Right, animals tend to have better hearing.

The bears began to circle us, forcing us into a small space together, back-to-back.

“I have the feeling these are probably the monsters we are looking for,” I said.

“What’s the matter, never seen a talking bear before?” the one closest to me asked.

“Can’t say that I have. I’ve seen plenty of werewolves but never a bear; not ones that talk anyway.”

“Paladin.”

“How do you know that I’m a paladin?”

“I can smell it.”

“Okay, if you know that I’m a paladin then you know that I’m going to kill you, right?”

Suddenly, the bears attacked us all at once. Kelly started shooting but they were too close. There was nothing that Alex could do so I grabbed her and threw her over one of the bears. I then kicked the one closest to Kelly in the face nearly breaking its neck. With the momentum of my spin I pushed Kelly past that bear so that it was just me in the middle of the three bears.

Rather than attacking me one at a time they all came at me at once. I jumped into the air into a barrel roll, getting away from them. They all crashed into each other.

“Idiots, just like the rest of them,” I taunted. That riled them up even more than they already were.

They attacked me again, with even more ferocity than before. I imagined that fighting a bear wouldn’t be the most fun in the world but these three were very intense.

One of the bears tried to bite me but I grabbed its head and whipped it to the ground. The next one stood on its hind legs and let out a blood-curdling roar. Anyone would have crapped in their pants if they stood in front of something like that. You think you’re any different? Please. This thing had at least three feet on me. The only thing was that it left itself open for attack.

I took my axe and swung up, cutting right into its midsection. Let’s just say that its insides were no longer on the inside. When it fell to the ground it landed with a thud, kicking up a cloud of dirt.

“I told you that you were going to die,” I said to the other two, who both stared at me in disbelief.

“He is our brother,” one of them said through a growl.

“Correction: he was your brother. As you can see he is dead now.”

“We will kill you.”

“I’ve been told that more than once.”

Without any warning the two of them shrunk down to humans, very large and strong human size, ran and grabbed my sister and Kelly and then took off. I didn’t even have time to process what happened.

“What the hell…?”

Hairy Situation: Part Nine

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 27, 2015 in Hairy Situation

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
