RSS
Aside
06 Jul

Hairy Situation Part One

Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part Nine, Part Ten, Part Eleven, Part Twelve, Part Thirteen, Part Fourteen

It was two months since we had the run in with the agency and the mermaids. Things were a lot tougher since I couldn’t use my credit card with no limit. Luckily we had Kelly with us though because she was able to create fake identities with credit cards. They obviously wouldn’t last long but it was something. I don’t know how she was able to do it but I had a feeling that I was going to have to learn.

Alex had come a long way. I was training her to fight and use her ability and she was getting very good at it. She had a long way to go but she’ll get there. One thing that was a problem, too, was that we didn’t have a weapon for her or even one for her to practice with.

We headed into a town with some disappearances somewhere in South Dakota. The moment we got near the town both Alex and I could feel that there was a monster there.

“I really hate this feeling,” Alex said, referring to feeling we got from nearby monsters.

“You’ll get used to it,” I promised her.

We already checked into the motel and were practicing somewhere in the woods.

“Shouldn’t we be looking for the monster?” Alex asked me.

“We need to train everyday if you are going to learn to be awesome just like me,” I boasted.

“You are such an idiot.”

“Yeah. Either way we need to train every morning. You are going to be facing some scary things.”

“Scary things?”

“The stuff of nightmares, kid.”

She attacked me low, trying to fake me out as she prepared to attack high but she was very obvious with her movements. I jumped to the side and threw her to the ground.

“You shouldn’t show me every move you are going to make,” I pointed out to her.

“I’m not,” she tried.

“You are. You’ll learn.”

“Shouldn’t we go looking for the monster here?”

“Soon.”

I didn’t know what we were looking for. With random disappearances there was no telling what it was. It was kind of a general calling card for any monster so I kept any theories out of my head.

After an hour of training, Alex and I headed back to the room. I still wasn’t comfortable letting anyone stay alone. There was no telling if the agency would show up at any moment.

“You guys were out there a while,” Kelly stated the obvious.

“She has a lot of work to do,” I told her.

“Well, we have a monster to catch.”

“We’ll get it.”

I took a shower before Alex could. After I dried myself off and got dressed I headed back out into the main room.

“Okay Alex, your turn,” I told her.

Her and Kelly were already standing by the door ready to go.

“What?” I asked them.

“There was an attack,” Kelly said…

“Right now?”

“Ten minutes ago.”

“Aren’t you going to shower first?” I asked Alex.

“No time,” she said.

“That’s gross.”

“Let’s go.”

“What’s your rush? It’s not like you’re really going to be able to do anything?”

I followed them out the door, heading towards the attack that happened in broad daylight…

Hairy Situation: Part One

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 6, 2015 in Hairy Situation

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
