RSS
Aside
10 Jun

Under the Sea Part Seven

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part SixPart Eight, Part Nine, Part Ten, Part Eleven, Part Twelve, Part ThirteenPart Fourteen

I trudged through the wet sand—I’m not the biggest fan of beaches—until I reached the crowd. A police officer stepped in front of me and put his hands out.

“Sir,” he began, “I’m going to have to ask you to leave.”

“He’s with us,” came a voice from amongst the crowd. I looked around the officer to see Roy waving him off. The officer stepped back and let me by but he still didn’t look happy.

I was surprised that Roy told the officer to let me by. I would have figured that he wouldn’t want me anywhere near the crime scene. I walked up to Lenny and Roy, who were standing over a dead body—what was left of it, anyway.

“What are you doing?” Lenny asked Roy.

“We need to put aside our differences and deal with this for now,” he told him. “We’ll probably need his help.”

“We don’t need his help.”

“Of course you do,” I added. “You’ll always need my help but clearly you and your agency has lost sight of that.”

Lenny looked back and forth between Roy and I.

“I hate you so much,” he said to me with a scowl.

“I love you too, Jenny,” I teased. “Hey! I love you Jennay.”

They both looked at me like I was an idiot, which I kind of am but that was beside the point.

“Forrest Gump?” I tried. “Anyone?”

They continued to stare.

“Okay then,” I said, giving up. “Never mind. What do we have here?”

“A dead person,” Lenny pointed out the obvious.

“Yes, I can see that much. Any ideas?”

“Not yet,” Roy said. “This is obviously some sort of animal. What do you think?”

I had no idea why he was all of a sudden being nice to me. One second he hated me, then the next he didn’t. He was acting like a crazy ex.

“I honestly don’t know,” I admitted. “Maybe a werewolf but I’ve never seen one so close to the ocean before.”

“Me neither.”

“Speaking of ocean, look at this,” Lenny motioned for me to follow. Why was he being nice now?

I followed behind him as we walked along side a trail of blood. It looked like someone was dragged across the beach.

“There were two people,” Lenny informed me.

“How do you know?” I asked.

“The woman lying in pieces back there called in about her boyfriend being attacked. We obviously only found her and judging by the drag marks here it would have to have been a full adult body and not body parts.”

“Okay, logical enough.”

We reached the end of the trail, which ended right before the water. I’m sure that twenty minutes ago it might have gone right into the water but it was low tide at that point.

“What would drag a body into the water?” Roy asked openly.

“I don’t know,” I said.

“Ever hear of any monsters living in the water?”

“No, but that doesn’t mean there aren’t any. The ocean is a big place.”

“I suppose any monster could’ve just swam and brought the body in the water to eat it.”

“I doubt it.”

“Well, what then?”

I thought about it for a long time but came up with nothing. I really don’t think a werewolf or something brought their food to the water just to eat it. It wasn’t like a shark just walked out of the water and ate someone. They can’t do that, can they…?

Under the Sea: Part Seven

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 10, 2015 in Under the Sea

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
