RSS
Aside
18 May

From the Ashes Chapter Four Part One

Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part Nine, Part Ten, Part Eleven, Part Twelve, Part ThirteenPart Fourteen

It’s been two weeks since I killed Larry, my father. Alex, Kelly and I were on the run from Fields and the agency, since they tried to “arrest” us. I had to explain to Alex what we were and what we did. She took it surprisingly well but a part of me thought that she might have been bottling her emotions.

I wondered what was going to happen after the massive monster attack. It wasn’t like the agency was going to be able to cover that up—it happened across the globe. For the time being the news was reporting it as a massive attack by terrorists. It would only be a matter of time before the stories of the monsters started pouring out. It wasn’t like everyone wasn’t going to know anyway.

We were held up in some cheap motel near the beach in South Carolina that had stains all over the floor and on the walls. It was gross but we were limited on options. I kept us moving everyday so the agency wouldn’t catch up with us. We ditched all of our cellphones and picked up some burners, so I was pretty hopeful that we had lost them by now.

Kelly was getting better, but who knew if that was a good thing or not. She was sleeping on a bed while Alex and I plowed through a pizza. Despite everything that happened the girl didn’t even lose her appetite. That made me proud—just a little. We all shared a room because I was afraid something would happen if we didn’t.

“She looks better,” Alex said, nodding towards Kelly.

“Yeah,” I agreed. “Better could be bad for us.”

“How long do you think she has?”

“I’d say a year.”

“How do you know?”

“That’s how long Larry said it took him to fully turn, I think.”

“So she’ll become a phoenix?”

“According to Director Fields she’ll die, but who knows.”

We both finished the pizza and then sat in front of the TV.

“We’ll leave at nightfall,” I told her. “Less likely to get found that way.”

“So the same it’s been for the past two weeks?” she asked me, somewhat sarcastically.

“Yeah.”

“And who says ‘nightfall’?”

“I do.”

“Well, it’s lame.”

“I suppose it is.”

There was a newscast about the event playing, as it always was for the last couple of weeks.

“When are they just going to say what happened?” Alex asked. “Everyone knows what happened.”

“Maybe the government is keeping it quiet,” I suggested.

“Really?”

“I don’t know, maybe.”

“Could be the place Kelly works for.”

“Used to.”

“Whatever.”

“I don’t know if they would be able to do that. They’ve got to be spread pretty thin at this point.

Alex nodded her head.

I looked over at the clock sitting on the nightstand next to the bed. It was going to be dark very soon.

“We should get ready to leave,” I said.

“I don’t know why we have to keep running every night,” Alex moaned. “It’s not like they are going to find us.”

There was a knock at the door…

Under the Sea: Part One

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 18, 2015 in Under the Sea

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
