RSS
Aside
06 May

From the Ashes Chapter Four Part Eighteen

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part Nine, Part Ten, Part Eleven, Part Twelve, Part Thirteen, Part Fourteen, Part Fifteen, Part Sixteen, Part Seventeen, Part NineteenPart Twenty

I wasn’t sure that I believed her at first. I knew Roy and there was no way he worked for the agency. How did I still not know the name? If he worked for the agency then that would mean he was spying on me.

“Roy,” I started, “tell me she’s kidding.”

Roy looked at me like he was about to tell me something that I was not going to want to hear.

“It’s true, buddy,” he said to me.

I felt the rage begin to build inside of me. “I’m not your buddy.”

“You can’t say you didn’t enjoy the time we spent together.”

“Shut up, Roy, or I’m going to kick your ass.”

“I don’t think you are in any position to do that.”

“Watch me.”

“You are always such a baby.”

“Want to see what this baby can do?”

“Enough, both of you,” Fields shouted out loud.

“Wes?” Alex said softly, tugging on my shirt. “What’s going to happen?”

“Don’t worry,” I replied just a quiet. “I’m going to get us out of this.”

“How?”

“I have no idea.”

I turned to Kelly again and she looked just as scared as my sister did—that felt weird to say, or rather type.

“How do you think Kelly is always able to get to you so quickly?” Fields asked. I never took my eyes off Kelly. “She was always following you. I needed to keep a close eye on you.”

The anger kept building inside of me. Kelly mouthed that she was sorry to me but I had a hard time believing her.

“It wasn’t enough, though,” Fields continued. “I needed to keep someone right next to you.”

“Maybe next time you could pick someone a little better,” I suggested to her with a smirk. “The idiot almost got killed on the first day.”

Roy charged at me but one of the other agents stopped him. Good thing for him to because I would have destroyed him.

“I don’t trust paladins,” Fields said to me plainly. “I don’t trust them anymore than I trust a werewolf.”

I started laughing.

“I know you didn’t just say that, did you?” I asked her rhetorically.

“I’m sorry, Wes,” she tried weakly.

“You could have said anything else: vampire, goblin, but no. You had to go and say werewolf.”

“There’s nothing that you can do.”

“You obviously don’t know me very well.”

“Wes, don’t.”

“Too late.”

I charged at Fields with my axes held out…

From the Ashes: Chapter Four Part Eighteen

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
