RSS
Aside
04 May

From the Ashes Chapter Four Part Seventeen

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part Nine, Part Ten, Part Eleven, Part Twelve, Part Thirteen, Part Fourteen, Part Fifteen, Part SixteenPart EighteenPart NineteenPart Twenty

I stared at Fields for the longest time, waiting for her to deliver the punch line that never came. Everyone was pointing their guns at us.

“Excuse me?” I said.

“You’re under arrest,” she repeated.

“You can’t arrest us.”

“I can.”

“We have rights.”

“Wes, really?”

It was worth a shot. I was kind of in shock that she was telling me that I was under arrest.

“I just saved the world and you’re telling me that I am under arrest?” I asked her.

“Yes,” she confirmed.

“What is wrong with you? What about Kelly? We need to help her.”

“There is nothing that we can do to help her.”

“That’s it? Just like that? She’s dead to you?” I turned to Kelly. “Did you know that she was going to do this?”

“No,” Kelly promised me. I could see the shock in her eyes so I know she wasn’t lying to me.

I looked around at all the agents and noticed that the gremlins were all gone.

“I can’t let you kill her,” I said plainly.

“She will die on her own,” Fields pointed out.

“How do you know?”

“Only a paladin can be turned into a phoenix.”

“You’re suddenly an expert. Why are you trying to arrest me and my sister?”

Fields drew in a deep breath and then let it out slowly, like all of this was bothering her.

“Monsters cannot be tolerated,” she stated the obvious. “Paladins can turn into a phoenix and therefore are just another monster.”

“Larry is dead,” I pointed out.

“There could be more.”

“You don’t know that.”

“That is why we can’t take the chance.”

I laughed. I had no better reaction than to laugh.

“You are unbelievable,” I said to her. “Do you really think that Kelly is going to try to bite me or we are going to run into another phoenix?”

“As I said,” she began, “we can’t take that chance.”

“You need me.”

“We have become very efficient at killing monsters on our own. We have eliminated so many monsters that you weren’t aware of.”

A looked over at Roy, feeling like I had let him down, but then something occurred to me.

“You didn’t say Roy was under arrest,” I said, pointing right at him.

Fields nodded her head and I could tell that whatever she was about to say that she really didn’t want to.

“Roy is one of my agents,” she informed me…

From the Ashes: Chapter Four Part Seventeen

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
