RSS
Aside
02 May

From the Ashes Chapter Four Part Sixteen

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part Nine, Part Ten, Part Eleven, Part Twelve, Part Thirteen, Part Fourteen, Part Fifteen, Part SeventeenPart EighteenPart NineteenPart Twenty

That was it; Larry was dead. I watched his severed head roll on the ground and his body turned into a pile of ashes. I had finally killed him.

All of the monsters that were attacking everyone scattered, obviously scared that their leader had been defeated. I had my suspicions that the worldwide attack would cease now that there was no one to lead them. Even Mygle and his gremlins were now gone, which was good because there was no telling what Fields would do to them. Well, what she would try to do, anyway.

I walked over to Alex and kneeled down in front of her.

“Are you okay?” I asked her.

“I think so,” she replied. It was obvious that this was going to be a lot for her to take in but she was like me—I hoped—so she would get through it.

“It’s over. He’s gone.”

She leaned into my shoulder as I stood up and started crying. I wrapped my arms around her and held her tight.

I looked around at the aftermath of the battle and there were dead monsters and agents everywhere. It was an utter mess.

Fields made her way over to Alex and me.

“I’m glad you are okay,” she said to me.

“I was just forced to kill my father and all you can say is ‘I’m glad you’re okay’?” I asked her.

“Does it upset you that you had to kill him?”

“Not at all.”

“Then I am glad you are okay.”

I once again surveyed the aftermath, taking it all in.

“What happens now?” I asked Fields.

“We clean up the mess,” she answered me.

“It’s a big mess.”

“That it is.”

Something occurred to me.

“How did you know that was going to happen to him?” I asked.

“I found an ancient text describing the phoenix,” she explained to me. “Took me five years to find it. It explained that if a phoenix infected another then the phoenix would eventually die.”

“Makes sense. Glad he didn’t know that.”

“Yep.”

“Did you know that the whole time?”

“Yes.”

“So what was your plan? If I didn’t kill him wait for him to infect me and then kill him and me?”

“Something like that.” Her voice was suddenly flat.

I turned to look at Kelly, who was kneeling right behind me.

“What are you going to do with her?” I asked Fields, suddenly very afraid.

“Wes Parker, Alexandra Fleming and Kelly Johnson,” Fields stated out loud for everyone to hear, “you are all under arrest…”

From the Ashes: Chapter Four Part Sixteen

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
