RSS
Aside
15 Apr

From the Ashes Chapter Four Part Ten

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part Nine, Part ElevenPart TwelvePart ThirteenPart FourteenPart FifteenPart SixteenPart SeventeenPart EighteenPart NineteenPart Twenty

It should have been obvious the last time I was there that she was related to me. We both looked so much alike. But then again, I had no idea I secretly had a sister from my real parents and that I was adopted. It wasn’t like Drake told me any of this. I wonder how much he knew?

“What are you doing back here?” Alex asked me with fear in her eyes. “Are the elves back?”

“No,” I told her. “Unfortunately it is something much worse.” I paused for a second. How did she know who I was. “You remember me?”

“Yeah.”

“But I erased your memories.”

“I’m not sure what you mean but your hand flashed a bright light and you said I wouldn’t remember. I pretended to forget.”

“Why?”

“Because I was scared.”

I nodded my head, understanding why she would be scared.

“Are my parents okay?” She started for the house but I stepped in front of her.

“Alex, listen,” I said stepping in front of her. “You don’t want to go in there, okay?”

“Move.” She pushed me out of the way. She was actually pretty strong.

I tried to grab her but she moved quicker than I expected and made it into the house. I followed right after her but almost ran into her because she stopped right in front of her dad.

“Daddy?” she cried. “Daddy?”

“Alex,” I tried.

“No.”

“I’m sorry.”

She was full on crying at that point. I know in moments like that older brother is supposed to comfort their little sister and try to make them feel better, but this was all new to me. So, for the longest time I stood there and let her cry. Give me a break, will you? It was a lot for me to take in, too. It wasn’t like I was expecting to find out that my parents were not my real parents, and that I had a sister, and that I was going to watch her parents die.

“Why?” Alex moaned.

“Alex, I’m so sorry,” I tried again. I reached down and gave her a hug. I half expected her to push me away but instead she embraced it. I thought that she might blame it all on me.

“Mom!” she almost shouted and pulled away from me.

“No, wait,” I said as I grabbed her. “Listen to me.”

“I have to get to her.”

“Stop. Listen. I’m sorry but she’s gone too.”

She shook her head and more tears started to pour out.

“I know what you are going through,” I explained to her. “And I promise that I will explain everything, but right now we really need to leave.”

“I can’t,” she cried.

“We have to.”

We headed for the door but never made it outside. Larry walked into the doorway and stopped us.

“You can’t leave yet,” he said. “We have a lot to discuss…”

From the Ashes: Chapter Four Part Ten

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 15, 2015 in Chapter Four, From the Ashes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
