RSS
Aside
01 Apr

From the Ashes Chapter Four Part Five

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part SixPart SevenPart EightPart NinePart TenPart ElevenPart TwelvePart ThirteenPart FourteenPart FifteenPart SixteenPart SeventeenPart EighteenPart NineteenPart Twenty

In case you have forgotten, Basilisks are snake-like creatures that are very quick and very dangerous. They are bipeds but they have a flat face, just like the slithery creatures that sometimes invade your lawn.

“Larry knew we would come here,” I said, stating the obvious.

“Yessssss,” one of them responded, their tongue flapping around the whole time.

“He also obviously knew that we would come this way.”

“Yesssss.”

“What if I had jumped across at a different spot?”

“What?”

“If I was hundreds of feet that way,” I pointed to the right, “you would have been nowhere near me.”

“We would have heard you,” the snake boasted. “You humansssss are ssssso loud.”

“I’m not a human.”

“Huh?”

“You things are so stupid. I am a paladin, not a human.”

“It matterssss not.”

“It matters not? Well, fear not my dear lords, for I shall end your suffering by taking thy lives.”

“You won’t even draw your weaponssss before I cut your throat.”

“Come at me.”

I figured there would be a little more back and forth but the basilisk drew his knife and stabbed at me. Now, the thing was right and it did get to me before I had a chance to get my axes but it didn’t slit my throat. Instead I blocked the attack, grabbed its arm and threw it over the trees and down the cliff.

“WES!” someone shouted. It sounded like Kelly. “ARE YOU OKAY?!” It was definitely her.

All of the snakes attacked me at once. It’s not like the movies where the enemy attacks one at a time; they all came at once. Looking back I could see why sometimes it might not make sense for them to attack together. There were so many of them that they started to run into each other. Plus when I knocked down one a few of them went down. That isn’t to say that they didn’t get some cuts and stabs here and there. Don’t worry; none of them hit anything major.

It took me a little while but eventually I got the best of the monsters and there was only one left.

“You can’t sssstop ussss,” the thing boasted as it back away from me.

“Maybe not,” I replied, “but I am going to kill you.”

It was just past the trees near the edge of the cliff and I was going to kill it, but his head jerked forward and it fell to the ground. I looked to the other side of the gap and Kelly was holding a rifle against her shoulder.

“I kind of had that,” I shouted.

“I know,” she said with a smile.

“Meet me at the log.”

I headed through the woods following the cliff until I found the log in question. The thing was pretty massive but I could definitely handle it. The rest of the group caught up on the other side.

“Do you really think you can lift this?” Fields asked, motioning towards the log.

“Yup,” I said.

“Can we help?”

“What do you think?”

She didn’t say anything else.

I bent down to pick up the log—lift with your legs people—and started pulling it towards me, further onto the edge of the cliff. There was a sudden roar behind me. I turned to see a werewolf charging at me. I jumped out of the way and the stupid thing fell right over the cliff. I thought it was stupid, at least, until I realized that it did that on purpose. I watched the werewolf and the log plummet to the ground below. Oops…

From the Ashes: Chapter Four Part Five

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 1, 2015 in Chapter Four, From the Ashes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
