RSS
Aside
30 Mar

From the Ashes Chapter Four Part Four

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part FivePart SixPart SevenPart EightPart NinePart TenPart ElevenPart TwelvePart ThirteenPart FourteenPart FifteenPart SixteenPart SeventeenPart EighteenPart NineteenPart Twenty

We left the headquarters and headed towards the town where Larry was searching for my sister. We couldn’t just head up the main road and hope that no one saw us so we had to take the back way. The agency has some pretty cool toys and that included off road vehicles that could fit up to four people. I know what you are thinking: they’ll make noise. That is what I thought too but they run on some sort of battery so they were very quiet. And I know that would make you think that they wouldn’t be very powerful either so how could you just drive through the mountains? They could. There were somewhere around six of the ATV thingamajigs and they were all full. I was riding in the front next to Fields.

The town was just under 20 minutes away from where we were, but that was if we took the main road. It was probably closer to half an hour.

“I’ve been wondering,” I began. “There really isn’t much monster activity in Colorado.”

“Is that a question?” Fields asked me.

“Why would you have a station out here?”

“We have at least one in every state. Yes, there aren’t many monster attacks here but it doesn’t mean we shouldn’t be prepared.”

“I imagine they don’t see that much action.”

“We do rotations.”

“How often?”

“Every couple of years.”

I chuckled.

“Yeah,” I said. “So not very prepared.”

She didn’t say anything but they obviously weren’t. Chances are they haven’t fought many monsters in a year or more and then Larry comes in and attacks. That would really suck.

We continued driving until we came to a giant cliff with no apparent crossing.

“Damn,” Fields muttered under her breadth. We were all out of vehicles now examining the drop. She had sent some of the groups to walk up and down looking for a way to cross.

“You don’t have a bridge set up?” I asked her.

“We didn’t plan for something like this,” she admitted.

“I bet you wish you did now.”

She ignored me.

“We need to get there,” I said, stating the obvious. “He’ll find her.”

“We will get there,” Fields tried to reassure me. She looked even more worried than I was. She must have been really close to my parents.

Eventually the two groups came back shaking their heads.

“There’s a log going across but it’s not secure on the other side,” one of the agents informed us. “We’d never make it across.”

“So if someone could get to the other side they could secure it?” I asked.

“They would need to be strong enough to lift it and pull it further in.”

“How big is it?”

“Maybe four foot diameter.”

I thought about it for a second. I looked over the cliff, which had more than a hundred foot drop and was much further than any human can jump. It’s a good thing I am not human.

I walked backwards giving myself enough distance to build up some speed.

“What are you doing?” Fields asked, starting to understand what I was doing.

“Jumping,” I said matter-of-factly.

“You can’t make that. Can you?”

“We’ll find out.”

“Dude,” Roy started, “don’t be stupid.”

“We don’t have a choice.”

He looked like he wanted to say more but he knew that I was right.

“Watch out for the trees,” he said. On the other side of the cliff there was nothing but trees so I did have to aim perfectly.

“Meet me by the log,” I said and then took off as fast as I could, pushing myself harder than I ever had before. When I reached the edge I jumped into the air and started flying to the other side. For a brief moment while I was in the air I didn’t think I was going to make it, but luckily I was. But I wasn’t going to land without going into a tree.

I crashed into one of them, breaking off a bunch of the branches. It hurt. After a coughing fit I stood up. It looked like we didn’t have the element of surprise because I was surrounded by a group of basilisks…

From the Ashes: Chapter Four Part Four

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 30, 2015 in Chapter Four, From the Ashes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
