RSS
Aside
27 Mar

From the Ashes Chapter Four Part Three

Part One, Part Two, Part FourPart FivePart SixPart SevenPart EightPart NinePart TenPart ElevenPart TwelvePart ThirteenPart FourteenPart FifteenPart SixteenPart SeventeenPart EighteenPart NineteenPart Twenty

There have been very few times that I have gone and stayed in Colorado, and that could be due to the fact that there was limited monster activity. That might also be why my mother would have brought my sister there in the first place—if she knew that sort of thing. That being said, I had a small feeling that the place we’d be going to was the town that I had been to before. To be honest I’m surprised that anyone would stay in that town considering a bunch of people disappeared. Well, they didn’t disappear: they were eaten by elves and I burned the remains. Was that morally wrong? Did the people have the right to know? Maybe, but it chanced exposing that monsters are real. That certainly didn’t matter anymore.

“Will we be able to look at the town at all?” I asked. “Did he destroy everything?”

“I don’t know yet,” Fields admitted. “Lenny?”

“I’m on it,” Lenny said, hopping in front of one of the computers. He started typing away faster than I ever could. Don’t tell him that I said that or I will find you and most definitely kill you. Don’t think that I can’t find you.

“I think we got lucky,” Lenny told everyone. “This one is still intact. And I can bring it up on the screen.”

The screen shifted, looking over the town from an aerial view. Slowly and slowly the camera zoomed in until it was close enough to see what was going on. There were monsters everywhere. They were pulling people out of their homes and out of the stores. Killing some but mostly just gathering them all together. Then we saw him.

Larry was slowly walking up the street looking at everyone.

“Will he know what she looks like?” I asked Fields.

“Not likely,” she replied.

“How old was she when we were separated?”

“She was just a newborn.”

How does she know so much?

“Did you know them?” I asked her, not really sure if I wanted to know the answer.

“Who?” she asked.

“My parents. My blood parents.”

She stayed silent for a few seconds. “Yes.”

“Is that why you know so much?”

“Yes.”

She didn’t seem to really want to talk about it, which was okay with me. I think I found out about as much as I wanted to at that point.

“He’ll know she’ll be about 11 or 12,” Fields continued. “With a town this small that will narrow it down.”

“So she’ll just be getting her powers,” I pointed out.

“She’ll already have them, but will have no idea about them.”

“She’s going to be feeling all of this but has no idea what she is feeling and why.”

“That’s correct.”

“I know what that’s like. I didn’t get it this bad, though.”

“Lenny, find the house.” She gave him an address and it brought up a house. The camera must have brought up some sort of infrared view because everything changed to blue and red, and we could see three bodies moving inside.

“Good,” Fields said. “She’s safe, for now. We need to get to her quickly.”

“What’s the plan?” Kelly asked.

Fields laid out an elaborate plan that involved us going around all the monsters to get to her, and then we were on our way. I was going to meet my sister. I hoped we got to her in time…

From the Ashes: Chapter Four Part Three

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 27, 2015 in Chapter Four, From the Ashes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
