RSS
Aside
25 Mar

From the Ashes Chapter Four Part Two

Part One, Part ThreePart FourPart FivePart SixPart SevenPart EightPart NinePart TenPart ElevenPart TwelvePart ThirteenPart FourteenPart FifteenPart SixteenPart SeventeenPart EighteenPart NineteenPart Twenty

It was bad. There wasn’t a lot of damage to the structure itself but there were a lot of scorch marks. Further proof that Larry was there. I was wondering how he could carry on so easily with one of his hands cut off, but then again I know very little about phoenixes.

Everyone started to trickle out of the elevator.

“Stay sharp everyone,” Fields ordered. “He could still be in here.”

The thought made me shudder a little. I got lucky when I cut off his hand and I had a feeling I wasn’t going to get that lucky again.

We trudged over all the fallen agents, working our way through the building until we came to a four way split. Fields broke everyone into groups, which put me in the same group as her. I really wished that it could have been just Roy and I but I knew that she wouldn’t let that happen without a fight and I wasn’t in the mood to fight with her.

“We’ll head to the command room,” she said to our group. It was her, Kelly, Lenny, Roy and I.

“Don’t you think he would have destroyed everything?” I asked her.

“Most likely, but we need to see if any of the security footage is intact.”

“This is stupid.”

“What is?”

“Being here. If I have a sister and Larry is going after her, then we should be going to her and not be in here.”

“If we go straight into the town we don’t know what we’ll be running into. We need to assess the situation and formulate a plan.”

“Why don’t we just fly above them?” Roy chimed in.

“If we did and Larry was already there, he could just knock us out of the sky.”

“Good point.”

“I don’t think he would with me in the plane,” I pointed out.

“We don’t really know for sure and I’m not willing to take that risk. We’ll start here and then stop your father from getting your sister.”

I stopped, turned around, and got right into Fields’ face.

“Don’t ever call him that,” I demanded.

“What?” she asked.

“He is not my father. I had a father and he had him killed. Larry is nothing but a monster.”

Fields nodded her head. To me it looked like she was sympathetic about the situation, which was weird.

“Shall we?” I asked, gesturing forward.

“Yes,” she replied.

We continued until we found the command center and it was a mess. There were broken screens, chairs thrown everywhere and more burn marks.

“Come on,” Lenny said to himself.

“He’s tearing this agency apart one place at a time,” Kelly pointed out.

There was one screen that still had a picture. It had a huge crack in it but it was functioning. It was a static picture of the sign for a nearby town. It was the same place that I had fought those elves last year. Why did I feel like I knew we were going to end up there…?

From the Ashes: Chapter Four Part Two

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 25, 2015 in Chapter Four, From the Ashes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
