RSS
Aside
21 Mar

From the Ashes Chapter Three Part Seventeen

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part Nine, Part Ten, Part Eleven, Part Twelve, Part Thirteen, Part Fourteen, Part Fifteen, Part Sixteen

I was getting the feeling that pretty soon I was going to figure out what it was to be a monster. It wasn’t something that I ever thought would happen. I mean I thought that I would die at some point from a monster, but never become one.

“I think the time is now,” he said to me.

“I would really rather you didn’t,” I said to him.

“You really don’t have a choice.”

“I’m not going to let you turn me.”

“Stop me.”

He burst into flames and reached towards me. I could feel the heat as he approached me. He was inches away from my face and I was sure that it was all over, but you know there is always something at the last second.

You would think there was a gunshot or an explosion that stopped Larry, but instead there was a cloud of white smoke. That’s what it looked like, anyway. It was some sort of industrial fire extinguisher; I kid you not. It obviously wasn’t enough to really take Larry down but it was enough to distract him.

He was no longer on fire and he dropped my weapons—he had been holding them. I grabbed them while everyone was distracted and quickly chopped off the head of the werewolf that had killed my parents. Hopefully this time he would stay dead. Larry was coughing and trying to recover. I swung at his head but he moved out of the way. He wasn’t quick enough, however. His hand didn’t move out of the way as quickly, so I was able to chop it off. He yelled.

“Damn you!” he shouted. I went to cut him again but he set himself ablaze again, causing an explosion that knocked me off my feet. Then he flew away. “I will be back for you!”

I turned around to start fighting the monsters but they were already dead, or were about to be. The gremlins and agency made sure of that. Right before the last few monsters were killed Mygle turned to look at me.

“Go,” I mouthed to him. And like that, he and his companions were gone. I didn’t need Fields questioning them. She would probably have them killed.

Fields walked over to me.

“What was that about?” she asked me.

“What?” I replied.

“The gremlins.”

“I don’t know. Maybe you could explain what took you so long?”

“We got here as fast as we could.”

Everyone was looking at me. Clearly they heard the conversation between Larry and I. I’m not going to call him dad or father, ever. I would cut out my tongue before I did that.

“Did you know?” I asked Fields. I figured she would have known and that was why she was acting so weird before, and wanted me to fight him.

She didn’t say anything.

“Did you know?” I repeated.

“Yes.”

“Do you think you could have warned me?”

“It wasn’t my place to tell.”

“Wasn’t your place? Do you think I wanted that jerk to tell me?”

“What did he say to you?”

“That he would be back for me.”

“We need to be ready.”

“We don’t need to be anything. I’m going to look for him on my own.” I turned my back and started to walk away. I turned back around to look at Roy. “You coming?”

“You just said that you wanted to be alone,” he pointed out.

“Let’s go.”

We walked away, heading toward my car.

“I have an idea where he’s going!” Fields shouted to me.

I ignored her.

“He might go after your sister…”

From the Ashes: Chapter Three Part Seventeen

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 21, 2015 in Chapter Three, From the Ashes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
