RSS
Aside
13 Mar

From the Ashes Chapter Three Part Fourteen

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part Nine, Part Ten, Part Eleven, Part Twelve, Part Thirteen, Part FifteenPart SixteenPart Seventeen

The first thing that freaked me out when I woke up was that things were dead silent—no pun intended. It took a little bit for my eyes to finally focus but when they did it looked like I had just woken up in a war zone. There were cars flipped over and on fire, buildings with windows smashed in and doors torn off, and there were bodies everywhere. It was a disaster.

The second thing that scared me was that all of the monsters that were in that town, the ones that were left at least, were surrounding me. The only monsters that I didn’t see were ghouls, which meant that the witches were definitely dead. That was a plus.

They were all staring at me, waiting patiently.

“Are you guys going to attack me at some point?” I asked them, pointlessly.

None of them answered.

“You guys are so creepy,” I said.

“They are waiting for my command,” Larry said, walking out from behind a group of them. “Don’t worry I don’t intend for them to kill you. Not yet, at least.”

I nodded my head, not really sure what I wanted to say.

“Do you now see what I am capable of?” he asked me with his arms spread out wide. I was already terrified of him anyway he didn’t need to make a point of it.

“Is everyone here dead?” I asked him.

“There’s a few held up in the police station but we’ll get to them later.”

“Why did you revive the witches?”

“I actually only needed to resurrect Belinda. She brought back the other two.”

“How? Why?”

“As to how, it is one of my many gifts.” He suddenly burst into flames. Red, orange and purple fire completely engulfed him but he didn’t yell. “I’m a phoenix.” The flames extinguished and he returned back to normal. His clothes didn’t burn but I didn’t even want to know why. “I can bring other monsters back to life.” As if to prove his point further the last werewolf that killed my parents, the one that I killed earlier, walked up next to Larry with a smile.

“I’ve never heard of a phoenix before,” I said to him, ignoring the werewolf.

“I’m the last in existence.”

“Why did you bring the Terrible Three back?”

“As a test.”

“Why?”

“I needed to make sure that you were worthy.”

“Worthy of what?!” I was yelling at that point. “Why do you keep saving me? Why won’t you just kill me? Why won’t you just leave me alone?”

Larry looked at me like he was annoyed, but he quickly wiped the look off his face and smiled.

“I wanted to make sure that you were worthy enough to join me,” he informed me.

“I would never join you,” I told him through my teeth. “Why would I ever join you? You killed my parents.”

Larry started laughing. It was small at first but then turned into something uncontrollable. Eventually all of the monsters joined in and they were all laughing at me.

“What?” I asked.

They kept laughing. It was a mix of laughter and the sound of dying animals.

“What?!” I asked louder.

Still they continued to laugh.

“STOP LAUGHING!” I demanded.

It seemed like a long shot but it worked. Slowly the laughter dwindled to a slight chuckle and then nothing.

“What was so funny?” I asked Larry.

“I didn’t kill your parents,” he said.

“You had the werewolves do it.”

“No, you misunderstand me. I didn’t kill your parents.”

I didn’t like where this was going.

“Wes, I’m your father…”

From the Ashes: Chapter Three Part Fourteen

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 13, 2015 in Chapter Three, From the Ashes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
