RSS
Aside
23 Feb

From the Ashes Chapter Three Part Eight

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part NinePart TenPart ElevenPart TwelvePart ThirteenPart Fourteen, Part FifteenPart SixteenPart Seventeen

I couldn’t believe it. She was standing right there staring back at me with a malicious smile. What was her name again? I thought about turning tail and running but that wouldn’t be very brave.

“How?” Bennett breathed in disbelief.

“I don’t know,” I admitted.

“What do we do?”

“You get back to the station and barricade yourselves in.”

“I can’t let the rest of the town die.”

He made a good point.

“Save as many as you can,” I said. “Do you guys have any sort of bomb shelter or anything?”

“Just the basement at the station,” he told me. “It might be enough.”

“Get as many people as you can.”

I walked away and Bennett took off. I seriously hoped that he was going to be okay but with everything going on around us his chances were slim.

“Last time I saw you your body was burned to a crisp,” I said to the witch.

“Hello, Wes,” she replied. She seemed in a good mood considering what happened the last time we met.

“Belinda.” That was her name!

“Well,” Larry began, “I don’t want to intrude. I’ll let you two talk it out.”

“Don’t go anywhere.”

“Try to stop me, Wes.”

Within a blink of an eye he was gone, leaving just the witch and I alone.

“How are you alive?” I asked Belinda.

“You didn’t think it would be that easy to kill me, did you?” she asked me rhetorically.

“I did actually. And I wouldn’t consider that easy.”

“Paladins are such simple creatures. I am one of the first of my kind.”

Our conversation was interrupted by a group of ghouls that waddled their way over to us. I quickly used my skills to kill them all so that I could continue to converse with the witch that I had killed. She didn’t seem much for conversation, though, because she hit me in the chest and sent me flying backwards across the street. I crashed into a wooden bench and it broke in half.

Belinda came up next to me.

“I cannot be killed that easily,” she said, stating the obvious.

“I can see that,” I responded. “I won’t make the same mistake again.”

She laughed.

“You won’t have a chance to,” she told me.

“Oh yeah?” I asked. “And why is that? Are you going to kill me? I’ve heard that way too many times before.”

“I’m not going to kill you.”

“Have your ghouls do your dirty work then?”

“No. Wes I would like you to meet my sisters, Rowena and Caroline.”

She motioned to her left and right as two other witches walked up next to her. She actually brought her sisters back from the dead too. The Terrible Three were back. Damn…

From the Ashes: Chapter Three Part Eight

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 23, 2015 in Chapter Three, From the Ashes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “From the Ashes: Chapter Three Part Eight

Leave a Reply

 
