RSS
Aside
21 Feb

From the Ashes Chapter Three Part Seven

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part EightPart NinePart TenPart ElevenPart TwelvePart ThirteenPart Fourteen, Part FifteenPart SixteenPart Seventeen

There were so many monsters running around that I wasn’t really sure where to begin. I wasn’t completely confidant that I was going to be able to save everyone but that didn’t mean that I wasn’t going to try.

“Wes?” Fields called to me over my earpiece.

“Yeah?” I replied.

“What’s happening?”

“Hell’s gate has been opened.”

“Dammit.”

“I think the time for you guys to hide is over. I’m going to need as much help as I can get here.”

“We’re already on it.”

“Oh, and just a warning, there are a lot of ghouls here.”

“Witches.” I could hear the disdain in her voice.

“Yup.”

“Do you think it’s her again?”

“We burned her body to a crisp. I doubt it.”

“We’ll be there as soon as we can.”

That was the last I had heard of her… for a little while. What, did you think she was dead? No, no. Don’t be silly.

With nowhere to start I just started cutting down monsters left and right. A few severed heads here, gunshots to the chest and head there—they were dropping like flies. But no matter how many of them I killed more of them just seemed to show up.

A small group of vampires—the cockroaches of monsters, I tell you—focused their efforts on me and converged on me like a swarm of bees. A couple of them bit me and one of them even scratched me but with a twist to the right and hard swing down I took out the last of them.

I started for a pack of ghouls when someone called for me. It was officer Bennett. He was shooting at a werewolf that was approaching him slowly with its mouth opened wide.

I shot the thing in the back to get its attention as I ran toward it. As it turned to look at me I took its head off.

“You okay?” I asked officer Bennett.

“For now, but this is chaos,” he pointed out.

“I know. We’re working on it.”

“I hope you have something big planned because we’re not the only town being attacked. We’ve got calls from surrounding towns asking us for help.”

“This is bad. It’s started.”

“What has started?”

“The monsters are rising up and they are going to take over the world.” That sounded so cheesy. “The man that I was with before is the one who is creating this.”

“A man started this?”

“Well, he’s not a man but I don’t know what he is. All I know is if I can kill him this will all be over, I hope.” I didn’t know if it would really end or not. It was just a theory.

“If?”

“He’s not easy to kill.”

“Wes!” Larry shouted.

I turned and saw him off in the distance.

“I found your friend,” he continued. “She really wanted to see you.”

I couldn’t believe my eyes. It was impossible. Standing next to him was the witch we had burned many months ago. How was she alive…?

From the Ashes: Chapter Three Part Seven

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 21, 2015 in Chapter Three, From the Ashes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
