RSS
Aside
18 Feb

From the Ashes Chapter Three Part Six

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part SevenPart EightPart NinePart TenPart ElevenPart TwelvePart ThirteenPart Fourteen, Part FifteenPart SixteenPart Seventeen

I can’t believe that I was so stupid. I let my need for revenge cloud the fact that Larry was really the one that killed my parents and he wouldn’t have let me kill the last werewolf like that without an ulterior motive. Now I had a feeling that this town was going to pay for that mistake.

I wasn’t really sure where Larry went off to so I decided to head back into town. I needed to warn them, though, so I called the station. Eventually I got to Bennett.

“Wes?” he said.

“Yeah,” I replied. “We might have a problem.”

“What?”

“That guy I was with just served the last werewolf that killed my parents to me so I could kill it.”

“Werewolves killed your parents?”

“Yeah. Sorry, I forgot you didn’t know that.”

“That should be a good thing, though, right?”

“Yeah, it should be.”

I started thinking about my parents. They were such good people and the best parents any kid could ask for. They didn’t deserve what happened to them. Thoughts of those monsters tearing them apart entered my mind but I quickly pushed that away. Nothing good can come of that.

“But I don’t think it is,” I continued.

“Oh?” I could hear the worry increase in Bennett’s voice.

“I think he just wanted me distracted.”

“For what?”

“I don’t know, something big.”

Just then there was a scream from somewhere in town. I was still pretty far away but I could hear it loud and clear.

“Crap,” I breathed.

“I heard it, too,” Bennett said with sternness. “Where are you?”

“Just outside of the center, in the woods,” I replied.

“Get here quick.”

“I’m already on it.”

I hung up the phone and started running. I can run really fast when I want to. Even if I don’t want to I can still run fast. It’s one of the many benefits of being a paladin. Sorry. Let’s focus here.

When I reached the center of the town I could see why there was a woman that screamed: there were people everywhere. They were running around like a bunch of chickens with their heads cut off trying to get away. Trying to get away from what, you ask? Well, monsters, of course.

“This is not good,” I said to myself.

I bet you’re thinking that there was a whole mix of monsters running around trying to eat everyone. There was. But there was just one monster in particular that made up the majority of the group: ghouls. That meant there was a witch in Salem. Things were only getting worse…

From the Ashes: Chapter Three Part Six

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 18, 2015 in Chapter Three, From the Ashes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
