RSS
Aside
10 Feb

From the Ashes Chapter Three Part Two

Part One, Part ThreePart FourPart FivePart SixPart SevenPart EightPart NinePart TenPart ElevenPart TwelvePart ThirteenPart Fourteen, Part FifteenPart SixteenPart Seventeen

Officer Bennett was approaching me. I had almost forgotten about him. Quick reminder: he was the officer that helped me last time I was here. He convinced me not to erase his memories, so obviously he recognized me. He wasn’t smiling like you would expect anyone you haven’t seen for a while would be but then again he probably figured out that the circumstances were bad.

“What are you doing here?” he asked with no emotion.

“Good to see you, too,” I replied.

“Sorry for the bluntness, but I figured if you’re here it probably isn’t for a good reason.”

“I’m not really sure yet.”

I stood up and walked over to him with my hand outstretched. He grabbed it and we shook.

“Good to see you,” I said to him.

“I’d like to say the same but I’m not sure if it is yet,” he admitted. “Last time you were here a crazy witch was trying to destroy this town.”

“I’ll admit I am here on business but I’m not sure if you should be concerned yet.” I didn’t want to put him in a panic if nothing was going to happen. “How have things been around here?”

“It’s been quiet. No witches or anything I mean, but there have been quite a few animal attacks.”

“Really?” I was faking my surprise.

“Yeah,” Bennett answered, sensing that I was acting. “You wouldn’t know anything about that would you?”

I shrugged my shoulders.

“Wes,” Fields came through my earpiece. “You can’t tell him anything. How does he even know who you are?”

I didn’t answer her. I didn’t want to look crazy to Bennett and I didn’t want to explain whom I was talking to either.

“I’ll assume you can hear and will listen to me,” she continued. “Use him if you need to but keep him in the dark.”

“No,” I finally said to Bennett. “There have been a lot, though. Not just here so I’m looking into it.”

“Wes!” Fields said something to me but I tuned her out. I didn’t want to completely lie to him. He needed to be somewhat prepared for what was coming. Not that there was much he could do.

“Did you find anything out yet?” Bennett asked me.

“If I did I would let you know,” I told him.

He nodded his head.

I looked around pointing out the lack of activity on the street.

“Where is everyone?” I asked him.

He studied me for a moment. “Things have felt strange lately. Over the past 24 hours everyone can feel it. There is just something in the air. So, everyone has been inside. I’ve heard it in the station and I have felt it myself.”

“I know the feeling.”

“What’s going on?” He wanted to know. And I knew I should really tell him.

I let out a long sigh.

“Wes,” came a voice I really didn’t want to hear. “Glad you could make it…”

From the Ashes: Chapter Three Part Two

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 10, 2015 in Chapter Three, From the Ashes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
