RSS
Aside
28 Jan

From the Ashes Chapter Two Part Thirteen

Part OnePart TwoPart ThreePart FourPart FivePart SixPart SevenPart Eight, Part Nine, Part Ten, Part Eleven, Part Twelve, Part FourteenPart FifteenPart Sixteen

I don’t really have to tell you that Larry was a much better fighter than me, not again anyway. So, you can pretty much guess that he was kicking my ass really badly. One good thing, though, was that because Roy and the other two were there they were able to fight the four monsters that were with Larry while I fought him.

I swung at Larry with the axe in my right arm but he ducked, so I caught nothing but air. Before I had time to recover he came up with a fist right into my stomach, almost knocking the wind right out of me. He tried to punch me in the face with his other hand but I did a back spring and kicked him the face. For a second he waited, unaffected but my hit.

I tried to get my breath back.

“I was wondering,” I began.

“What?” Larry asked, not really that curious.

“How do you manage to keep the hat on?”

Larry chuckled, humoring me.

“I can really appreciate your attitude sometimes,” he stated with a weird sense of pride.

“Most people don’t,” I muttered.

He charged at me with a sudden fury and hit me so many times that I lost count. It was like that scene in the Matrix where Agent Smith just pounds on Neo a bunch of times so fast that his fists are a blur. It wasn’t really that fast but it was beyond the ability of any human.

Eventually he stopped and allowed for me to drop to my knees and regain my composure.

“I told you that you can’t stop me,” he pointed out.

Lenny just finished killing the last monster. I looked over at them and they were waiting for me to do something.

I flashed my beam of light to distract Larry. I went to chop his head off but he punched me in the face before I could move.

“Those stupid tricks won’t work on me,” he explained to me as if I were a child.

How did that not blind him? That works on everyone and everything except me.

I didn’t really have to contemplate it before he lifted me into the air and threw me at the other three. We all crashed into each other turning into a ball off legs and arms.

“I have spent enough time with you,” he said to us. “I’ve decided you will all live for now. The monsters will need something to eat when this is all over.”

He was walking away and I started to chase him but he threw a wave of fire, which appeared out of nowhere, right at me. I stumbled backwards and fell to the ground as the extreme heat nearly singed the hairs right off my face. I have some facial hair. I guess its just stubble really. Focus!

By the time I stood back up Larry was gone.

“He can control fire?” Kelly asked. “Did you know that?”

“I didn’t,” I informed her. How could he do that? What was he?

“He kicked your ass,” Lenny pointed out, but without the satisfied tone I would have expected.

“I know that. I was there.”

“We’re screwed. He threw you around like a rag doll.”

I didn’t respond and neither did anyone else. We all knew that Lenny was right. We were screwed…

From the Ashes: Chapter Two Part Thirteen

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 28, 2015 in Chapter Two, From the Ashes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
