RSS
Aside
19 Jan

From the Ashes Chapter Two Part Nine

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part TenPart ElevenPart TwelvePart ThirteenPart FourteenPart FifteenPart Sixteen

If we hadn’t known already then it would have been very clear that the monsters had been let loose and that they had been going in the same direction that we were heading. I could tell because they left a path of destruction in their wake. There were dead bodies, scratch marks on the wall and debris everywhere.

We were rounding a corner when a vampire jumped around it and barreled right into us. I wasn’t expecting it so it did catch me off guard but I will point out that I was the only one who didn’t fall down. I expected the creature to go for a second attack but instead it kept running. Rather than chasing it down I whipped out one of my guns and shot it in the back of the head. It went down and didn’t get back up.

“That was easy,” I said.

“There’s plenty more where it came from,” Kelly point out as she stood back up.

“Are there any more holding cells other than in the one hallway?”

“No.”

“Does that mean there is only one of each?”

“Correct. We never kept more than one.”

“And please tell me there are no elves.”

“We can never catch one.”

“That doesn’t surprise me. Let’s keep moving.”

We picked up where we left off and kept running, hitting a few more monsters on our way. It made it easier that there was only one of each monster. They are far harder to kill when they are in a pack. Yes, there were more than one monster but they were all disconnected, unorganized.

We just got finished killing a pack of monsters when the building started to rumble.

“What the hell was that?” Roy asked.

“Something big,” I replied.

“I know that, you jackass.”

“You asked.”

“Quiet you two,” Kelly ordered. Surprisingly we both listened to her.

There was another rumble and then a troll came around the corner, and it looked very pissed off. It let out a huge roar and then ran down the hallway with alarming speed. When it was less then ten feet away from us I jumped up into the air and tried to get over it. The problem was that the ceiling wasn’t that much higher than the troll’s head, so I didn’t get over it like I expected to and it knocked me down to the ground. The wind was knocked right out of me.

The troll moved passed me attacking the rest of the group. They were all very capable but I don’t know how they would fare against a troll with only three of them against one troll in close quarters.

With as much effort as I could I swung my axe and cut the back of the troll’s leg. It roared in pain and fell to one knee. Lenny then shot it in the head three times, taking it down for good.

After I regained my breath I stood up.

“That was easy,” I said.

“No thanks to you,” Roy complained.

“It wasn’t for lack of trying.”

“Oh yeah, you jumped right up there.”

“I’m not used to such low ceilings.”

“Maybe next time you can think before you leap.”

“I’m thinking right now and I really want to put you through a wall.”

“Will you two can it?” Kelly asked bitterly. She wasn’t really asking, though.

All of a sudden the alarms stopped and there was a crackling on the speakers.

“Wes?” a voice called out. “Please report to my office.”

I knew that voice and I had still held out hope that I wouldn’t hear it down there…

From the Ashes: Chapter Two Part Nine

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 19, 2015 in Chapter Two, From the Ashes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
