RSS
Aside
07 Jan

From the Ashes Chapter Two Part Four

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part FivePart SixPart SevenPart Eight, Part NinePart TenPart ElevenPart TwelvePart ThirteenPart FourteenPart FifteenPart Sixteen

After our little monster-filled detour, we found ourselves in a large room with a big screen against the back wall. There was a circular table in the middle of the room with screens built into it all around it, and chairs at each one. Around the rest of the room were desks with people sitting behind them. Every looked very busy.

“This the main room?” I asked, immediately regretting the question.

“What does it look like?” Lenny asked back, peaking from behind one of the desks.

“Oh great. Jenny, how are ya?”

“It’s Lenny.” He started to raise his voice but quickly calmed himself. “Always good to see you.”

Roy looked back and forth between the two of us.

“This him?” he asked me, pointing at Lenny.

“Yeah,” I replied.

Lenny looked even more aggravated.

“What?” he asked me.

“Nothing,” I replied.

I looked up at the screen that looked like a map of the world. There were red dots spread throughout the globe.

“So what’s the plan?” I asked openly.

“Kill the monsters,” Lenny replied.

“Good one, Jenny.”

“Calm down boys,” Kelly warned us.

The screen shifted and zoomed in. It focused on some spot in Europe, maybe in London, in a back alley. It was a troll attacking some poor young woman. She looked terrified and there was nothing that I could do to stop it. It was hard for me to watch as the monster started to tear the poor girl apart. It was obvious this was happening all over the world. Although, it happened every day. It was just going to be happening a lot more.

“We need to get back out there, now,” I said, starting for the door.

“There is nothing we can do right now,” Kelly said.

“I don’t care. We have to.”

“We need to go act together or everything that we do will be pointless. Even you won’t be able to take care of this yourself.”

She was right. I couldn’t even beat the man in the trench coat; there was no way I could take out him and the rest of the monsters.

“What is the plan then?” I asked.

“We organize and then we attack,” came a very authoritative voice. I turned around to see a woman walking towards us. She wore a business suit and her black hair was tied up in a very tight bun. “That is the plan.”

She walked over to us and believe it or not she was taller than I was. She stuck out her hand.

“Wes,” she said. “Good to meet you.”

I grabbed her hand and she squeezed hard. There was something very weird about this woman…

From the Ashes: Chapter Two Part Four

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 7, 2015 in Chapter Two, From the Ashes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
