RSS
Aside
06 Jan

From the Ashes Chapter Two Part Three

Part One, Part Two, Part FourPart FivePart SixPart SevenPart Eight, Part NinePart TenPart ElevenPart TwelvePart ThirteenPart FourteenPart FifteenPart Sixteen

The doors opened to a hallway that was pearl white and lit by florescent lights. There were people walking back and forth between the various rooms in the hallway. They were all walking very quickly, clearly in a rush due to the impending doom.

“This is headquarters,” Kelly exclaimed, pointing around.

It was very impressive, even though I haven’t really seen the whole place yet.

“As I stated before there are many stations throughout the world but this is the main base of operation,” Kelly stated. “This is where I work from.”

“This is where you work?” I asked her.

“That’s what I said.”

“How come you always seem to be close to me? You always show up where I do?”

“We have very quick ways of transportation, faster than the general public, and most of the time it is just luck. Plus it’s not like it’s all the time.”

“That makes sense.” She was right; it wasn’t every time that we showed up together. But a lot of the time it did seem very convenient.

We continued walking around. I peaked into some of the rooms and wasn’t very surprised by what I saw. They were filled with touch screen computers, white desks and a lot of people. Everyone was shouting so much that the noise spilled out into the hallway. Every once in a while someone would dart across the hallway nearly running into us.

“Is it usually like this?” Roy asked Kelly.

“It’s usually very busy but not like this,” she answered him. “Given the invasion that is starting.”

“Fair enough.” He looked even more uncomfortable than before. I wasn’t sure if it was being around so many people or so many of those people. I didn’t like being in there that much either.

I looked up as we passed a hallway that read Holding Cells. I tapped on Roy’s shoulder.

“What could they be holding here?” I asked him.

“I have no idea,” he replied. “Do they arrest people?”

“Not that I know of. Then again they did want to arrest me.”

Without even thinking I headed down the hallway.

“Where are you going?” Roy asked.

“Just keep up,” I responded.

We managed to slip away from the group and snuck down the hallway leading to the holding cells. It only took a couple of minutes but we reached it. There were doors lined on each side of the hallway that lead to a dead end. I didn’t bother taking inventory of how many doors there were but there were a lot.

I walked up to the first one and took a peak inside. It looked like a padded cell you might see at an insane asylum, everything just as white as the rest of the building. But there didn’t seem to be anything inside.

“See anything?” Roy asked me as he was looking into another one.

“No,” I replied. That’s when the werewolf stuck its face in the small circular window and roared. Despite the fact that the room was sound proof it still made me jump back. After it finished its roar it turned back into human form completely naked. I turned away as quick as I could but the look on his face didn’t look mad, but broken.

“They’re keeping monsters in here,” I said.

“I know,” Roy replied.

I looked over at him and saw a vampire looking through the window he was just looking in. That is when Kelly showed up.

“Get lost?” she asked us, a little annoyed.

“What is this?” I asked her.

“We keep them here, one of each monster that we know of.”

“Why?”

“For testing.”

I guess it made sense but there were a lot of rooms, which meant there were a lot of monsters. It made me feel uneasy.

“Don’t worry,” said Kelly, sensing my unease. “They aren’t going anywhere. Now follow me please.”

Roy and I were following her again, but I couldn’t help but think having this many monsters under one roof was a bad idea. I get what they were doing but I didn’t like it. I somehow felt that it was going to come back and bite us in the ass…

From the Ashes: Chapter Two Part Three

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 6, 2015 in Chapter Two, From the Ashes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
