RSS
Aside
02 Jan

From the Ashes Chapter Two Part Two

Part One, Part ThreePart FourPart FivePart SixPart SevenPart Eight, Part NinePart TenPart ElevenPart TwelvePart ThirteenPart FourteenPart FifteenPart Sixteen

It was just a regular office building. It was three stories high and it didn’t look like anything out of the ordinary. I would have expected something a little bit more elaborate than this. It was very underwhelming.

“This is it?” I said.

“This is it,” Kelly replied.

“I would have expected something a little bit more.”

“Never judge a book by its cover.”

We walked to the front of the building and through the front door. It was dark out by then so the building was completely empty. But then again that was very strange if this was supposed to be the headquarters for their agency. I would have figured it would be something much bigger and very busy. There were a lot of monsters out there to kill and so few to do it.

Roy and I hung back from the rest of the group.

“Something doesn’t feel right,” Roy said to me.

“What?” I asked him.

“I don’t know. I just feel like we really shouldn’t be here.”

“Look. It’s not like I don’t agree. It’s just that we are only two people and we are going to need as many people as we can to fight. There is going to be a massive monster invasion and we can’t do it alone.”

“I know that. I still think we shouldn’t be here.”

I didn’t bother responding. He was right but what could we do?

We found an elevator that was a couple of hallways in. Kelly pushed the number three button to ascend to the top floor. When the doors parted they revealed an office that looked very typical. There were desks with computers, chairs, and a couple of huge printers on each side of the room. It was very plain.

“This doesn’t seem very advanced,” I pointed out.

“What?” Kelly asked.

“Nothing. I just expected a bunch of high tech stuff I guess.”

“What did I say?”

“Yeah, yeah: don’t judge a book by its cover.”

I was being impatient but truth be told I was nervous. I was in a place that was supposedly going to be filled with people that could actually take me down. There was no telling what kind of equipment that they had and what they could do. I had every right to be nervous.

We made our way through the office until we found a maintenance closet. We walked in one at a time. After we were all crammed in Kelly waved some sort of keycard that revealed some buttons. She pushed a couple of them and then another set of elevator doors, that I had no idea were even there, opened.

We all piled in.

“Secret elevator,” I said as the door closed. “Why on the third floor?”

There was only one button and Kelly pushed it. The doors closed and we were descending down.

“If you were going to hide an elevator, why keep it on the first floor where someone would think to look?” Kelly asked me, making a good point.

“Fair enough,” I replied.

The elevator took us deeper down, even lower than the first floor. It was obvious now, and should have been obvious before, that the headquarters was under the building.

The elevator stopped and the doors opened up. Then I got to see exactly what I was expecting see…

From the Ashes: Chapter Two Part Two

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 2, 2015 in Chapter Two, From the Ashes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
