RSS
Aside
25 Dec

From the Ashes Chapter One Part Thirteen

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part Nine, Part Ten, Part Eleven, Part Twelve, Part FourteenPart Fifteen

The monster was huge. I’m not blind. Trying to beat this thing with brute force was not going to work. I had to be quick and precise. The problem was that he was actually really fast, which is normal for a werewolf. You just wouldn’t expect something so big to be able to move that quickly.

He took a huge swing at my head but I ducked out of the way. While I was crouched down he attempted to uppercut me with his claws stretched out. I rolled to the side and took a swing with my axe at his legs. The monster stomped on it before I even got close. He then took another swing at me but I was able to roll out of the way again. But I did lose my axe.

One of the officers took a shot at the werewolf and nailed him right in the chest. The monster didn’t even recoil from the shot. He did shift his focus to the officer and headed right for him. I jumped in between and tried to kick him in the head but he simply knocked me to the side. Roy also tried to step in but he ended up through a window. The officer was just about to die. I took out one of my guns and fired at my enemy. I hit it in the back three times before it turned around again.

I wasn’t sure if this thing just had a ton of adrenaline or if it was just how it was but it now had four shots in it and had no intentions of stopping. He was smiling at me again.

“Pathetic,” he spat. “You paladins always hide behind your weapons.”

“If the shoe fits,” I replied.

“Fight me like a true warrior.”

“A true warrior? What are you samurai?” I laughed at him.

His face remained unchanged, serious as ever.

“Were you really a samurai?” I asked him. I didn’t know there were any that old. If he was afraid of the man in the trench coat I wondered how old that monster was.

“Didn’t you guys use swords?” I asked.

His face didn’t change.

I dropped my axe to the ground. “Come on.”

The werewolf charged at me again. This time I took him on with no weapons. Maybe it wasn’t one of my smartest choices but this monster really pissed me off. He had a slight advantage over me because he seemed damn near impervious to everything that I threw at him, while each hit he gave me was a little painful. I tried my best not to show that, though.

He tried to grab me by the throat after he slammed me in the stomach but I pounded on both his ears before he got the chance. That one actually made a difference. He dropped to the ground and I tried to hit him again but he knocked me away.

“I told you,” I said. “I’m going to kill you just like your brothers.”

“You have not won yet, Wes,” he pointed out.

“Get back up and fight then.”

“With pleasure.”

We fought, again. I managed to keep up with him.

“You smell like your parents,” he taunted me.

I got very angry very quickly.

“I wonder if you taste the same,” he added, putting gasoline on the fire.

I exploded. I felt like I literally exploded. I was hot all over and there was a huge burst of adrenaline pumping through my body. I don’t think the werewolf expected for that to work the way that it did.

He slashed at my chest but I flashed my light to distract him. Then I grabbed his arm and pulled him towards me. Using his momentum, I jumped up and kneed him right in the chest. He fell to the ground and I started wailing on him like a punching bag. My eyes were burning from the tears and I am pretty sure that I was screaming.

Eventually I stopped and backed away to grab my axe. The werewolf was bloody and beaten, but he was laughing.

“Stop laughing!” I yelled.

He didn’t.

“Why are you laughing?!”

He pointed to my right. I felt my heart drop as I saw a large group of vampires running down the street…

From the Ashes: Chapter One Part Thirteen

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 25, 2014 in Chapter One, From the Ashes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
