RSS
Aside
28 Nov

From the Ashes Chapter One Part Three

Part One, Part Two, Part FourPart FivePart SixPart SevenPart EightPart NinePart TenPart ElevenPart TwelvePart ThirteenPart FourteenPart Fifteen

This was like nothing I have ever seen before. Sure monsters for the most part are pretty dumb, but most of them aren’t. And all of them know enough to not reveal themselves to the general public. If I thought it was possible I would think that this one had rabies. They can’t get rabies, though. At least I don’t think they can.

It moved slowly, each step taunting us. It had to know what I was and that it didn’t stand a chance, but it didn’t seem to care. Of course, they never really do. The lieutenant and his officer started to back away slowly, too shocked to say anything. Roy and I took a step forward toward the monster. I was hoping it would scare it a little bit but it kept coming. I don’t know why I thought it would.

“Are you c-c-c-crazy?” the lieutenant asked us in a whisper. “Th-that thing will kill you.”

“Remember when you asked us if we really thought it was a bear?” I asked him, not keeping my voice down and never taking my eyes off of the beast.

“Yeah?”

“This is what we thought it was.”

The werewolf jumped at us but we stepped out of the way. It didn’t stop moving and headed for the two police officers. I had snuck my axes with me, hoping the police wouldn’t notice—they didn’t. I swung at the thing’s legs but it moved faster than I expected and all I did was cut it a little bit. It was enough to grab its attention, though, because it immediately turned around and charged after me. I tried to swipe at its head but it tackled me to the ground before I could chop it off.

As we struggled on the ground it kept trying to bite my neck but I was strong enough to keep the thing at bay. Roy fired his gun and hit the thing a couple of times, but all he seemed to do was make it angry. Using the distraction Roy created, I kicked the monster off of me, sending it through the air. As I stood up I whipped out my pistols. When the werewolf came back at me I fired four shots at its head. There was nothing left so the body just fell to the ground.

Roy walked up to me.

“You all right?” he asked.

“Yeah,” I replied.

“You ever see one out in the daylight like that?”

“No, I haven’t.” Well, that’s not completely true because there was that town of werewolves but that was different. Plus none of them really turned until it was dark out.

“Why do you think it did?”

“I don’t know, but I bet you that guy with the hat and coat has something to do with it.”

“This is bad.”

“Yes it is.”

“Excuse me,” the lieutenant practically shouted. “What is going on here?”

I turned to him and put on a serious face.

“That’s a werewolf,” I stated plainly.

“I know,” he replied. “Who are you people?”

“We’re monster hunters.”

“What?”

“We hunt monsters.”

The lieutenant looked like his head was going to explode.

“Monsters don’t exist!” he shouted. “This isn’t a horror movie.”

“Does that look like a monster?” I asked, pointing at the dead werewolf. He didn’t respond. “They do exist.”

“And so do they,” said Roy, pointing off to the side.

I looked over to see what he was pointing at. Coming out of from behind the trees were four more werewolves walking towards use. Now it was a party…

From the Ashes: Chapter One Part Three

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 28, 2014 in Chapter One, From the Ashes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
