RSS
Aside
15 Nov

Creepy Crawlers Part Thirteen

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part Nine, Part Ten, Part Eleven, Part TwelvePart Fourteen, Part Fifteen

I was walking through the woods, taking more time than I should have been, heading toward my impending doom. That might seem a bit dramatic to you, especially since I’m telling you about this now so you know I will make it through alive, but I want you to do something for me: think of your worst fear. Now I want you to imagine that fear being thrown right into your face. How would you feel?

There was a large trail of webs left behind from all of the people being dragged so it wasn’t that hard to figure out where they were. I wasn’t really sure what I was going to run into when I got there. Maybe a giant web with people and animals decorating it like a terrifying Christmas tree. That’s exactly what I did find.

It was horrifying. Everyone was wriggling and moaning, screaming even. It was a hard thing to look at considering how many of them there were. Not to mention all of the spiders crawling around the webs. It was like my worst my nightmare lived next to a nuclear power plant. Oh, also, there were three more of those large ones, which really confused me because I thought the huge one I saw earlier was the mother or queen or whatever you call it. Guess not.

I looked through the crowd of soon-to-be-dead people and there was no way of telling which one was Roy. It was going to be tough to find him.

There was a rustle in the bushes off to the right. I knew that my cover was blown and any second the spiders were going to converge on me. I had to act quickly. I jumped to the bushes in a single bound—no I can’t jump over buildings—which was somewhere around fifteen feet. I didn’t even know I could do that. It’s amazing what you can learn about yourself when fear is driving you.

When my feet touched ground I swung at the bushes with my axe but I twisted my hand at the last second and missed the target. That’s because it was the police chief.

“What are you doing here?” I asked him.

“These are my people,” he explained. “I took an oath to protect them and that is exactly what I intend to do.”

I respected him for that. It was stupid and he was probably going to end up dead but he was brave. He was going to try to save everyone even if it meant his death.

“What do you intend to do?” I asked him.

“I’m going to shoot them with this shotgun,” he said, holding up his weapon.

“Do you really expect to take them out with just a shotgun?”

“Do you really expect to take them out with a couple of axes?”

He made a fair point. The only difference was that I had super strength and speed to go with it. Plus I had two really powerful pistols.

“Touché,” I said.

We looked at each other for a second. It was clear there was nothing I could say to him to convince him to go away so I didn’t bother trying. I could knock him out but that would leave him helpless.

“Okay,” I said. “Just stay out of the way and stay sharp. What about the rest of your group?”

“I couldn’t ask them to help me,” he said.

I nodded my head.

“Are we going to just charge in?” the chief asked me.

“That wouldn’t be smart,” I informed him.

“What then?”

“I really don’t know.”

I stopped talking. Every time I think things have gotten worse it only gets worse from there. I found out the other spiders definitely weren’t the mothers. A spider slowly came out of the woods. It was even bigger than a tank…

Creepy Crawlers: Part Thirteen

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 15, 2014 in Creepy Crawlers

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
