RSS
Aside
12 Nov

Creepy Crawlers Part Twelve

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part Nine, Part Ten, Part ElevenPart ThirteenPart Fourteen, Part Fifteen

I was going to chase after them but there were too many and I needed to get the girl safely inside. We walked through the front door which was busted open. I expected to be attacked by a spider or two but we weren’t. I realized that I didn’t know where the shelter was, and it wasn’t like it was written on the wall or anything.

“I don’t suppose you know where the bomb shelter is?” I asked the little girl.

She nodded her head.

“No,” she said with a mousy voice.

“That’s okay,” I assured her. “We’ll find it.”

“What’s happening?”

“I’m not really sure.”

“Are you going to save us?”

I’m not sure what it was; maybe it was the look on her face or the innocence of her voice, but I was going to save them. I didn’t care what it took or what I had to do, I was going to make sure that I saved them all.

“Yes,” I said.

She shook her head but I could still see some doubt in her eyes.

I walked around the entire first floor of the building until I finally found a way to the basement. There were file cabinets and boxes everywhere. It looked like it was all organized but there were so many.

After taking a minute to scan the room I could see that there was a section of boxes that looked like they had been moved. When I got over to them I could see they used to be blocking a door. I knocked. I could hear some muffled screams.

“It’s me!” I shouted.

“Who?!” a muffled voice asked. It sounded like the chief.

“The kid who tried to warn you about the spiders.”

There was a three second wait and then the door opened up in front of me.

“Kylee!” a woman shouted when she saw me with the girl.

“Mommy!” the girl yelled back. She jumped out of my arms and ran to her mom. The two of them hugged while the mother wept. I felt a sudden longing feeling.

The mother walked up to me and gave me a big hug.

“Thank you,” she cried.

“No problem,” I said, without anything better to say.

I looked around the crowd of people, which was bigger than I expected, but I couldn’t find Roy.

“Where’s Roy?” I asked the chief.

“Who?” I would have figured he would be smart enough to think I would be looking for the guy I had showed up with.

“The other guy that I was with.”

All of the color drained from the chief’s face and it didn’t take much for me to figure out why.

“Did that dumbass get captured?” I was actually annoyed.

The chief nodded his head. “Right before we got in the building one of the spiders grabbed him.”

“How did this guy do any hunting before he was with me.”

“What?”

“Never mind.”

I headed back out of the shelter.

“Where are you going?” someone asked me.

I turned around. “I’m going to save them.”

I left the building and headed for the woods…

Creepy Crawlers: Part Twelve

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 12, 2014 in Creepy Crawlers

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
