RSS
Aside
29 Oct

Creepy Crawlers Part Six

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part SevenPart EightPart NinePart TenPart ElevenPart TwelvePart ThirteenPart Fourteen, Part Fifteen

Four days. That’s how long we had been in that town and each day a new web would appear but there were no spiders anywhere. I knew it had to be real or I wouldn’t feel the monster nearby but I was starting to doubt my ability, my instinct. It was very frustrating.

Roy and I were both getting pretty antsy and to be honest I was starting to get sick of him. Neither of us had anything to hunt and kill so we were getting on each other’s nerves. Even the way he just sat there on the bed made me want to punch him in the face. Maybe we shouldn’t be hunting with each other anymore.

We woke up on the fifth morning expecting to see another story about another web, and we did.

“I’m starting to think this is all bullshit,” said Roy with bitterness present in his voice.

“I don’t know,” I admitted.

“Maybe it could be some other monster just trying to mess with us? Are there any that use trickery?”

“Maybe an elf, but we would know.”

“An elf?”

“Right. You would never know about them.”

“Why?” He looked at me like I was making it up.

“They use magic and dupe the town they invade,” I explained to him. “No one would ever remember them. So, if you have ever run into them before then you would never remember anyway.”

He looked at me thoughtfully.

“They sound awful,” he said.

“You have no idea,” I replied with a sarcastic smile.

“Let’s go look at the web.”

“We’ve got nothing else to do.”

When I stepped outside our room something seemed wrong but I couldn’t put my finger on it. The area seemed eerie for whatever reason but it wasn’t obvious to me yet. So, I ignored it for now and got into the car with my idiot companion. Sorry. Thinking back is reminding me how much he annoyed me.

The web was by the woods again but this time it wasn’t near anyone’s yard. Instead it was down the only main road in the town just near the border. The usual crowd hung around outside of it. Roy and I entered the woods further down to avoid detection.

We reached the other side of the web and this time we found another trail of webs in the trees. We started to follow.

As we trudged through the thick forest it really started to bother me again that something felt off.

“Anything feel wrong to you?” I asked Roy.

“Other than giant webs and nothing that made them?” he replied sarcastically.

“Yeah.”

“No. Why?”

“I don’t know. Something just feels off.”

We followed the webs until we reached another web set up to catch something. This one actually had something caught in it. I couldn’t tell what it was because it was wrapped up in webs, ready to be eaten. That’s when it hit me. There were no bird sounds, no squirrels running around. The forest was dead quiet.

“Do you hear any animals?” I asked.

“No,” Roy responded back to me.

“Neither do I.”

“Your point?”

“Since we’ve gotten hear there have always been singing birds or a bunch of squirrels running around. Now there’s nothing.”

Roy looked around. “Oh yeah.”

“There were no missing animals reported, right?”

“I don’t think so, but I haven’t really seen any dogs or cats since we’ve gotten here. Maybe no one has pets here.”

“People always have pets.” I used to have a dog.

There was a rustling in the tree above me, right by the web. I was too afraid to look up, knowing what I was going to see. Maybe I’m a glutton for punishment. Maybe I’m just a moron, but I looked up, and I wished I had never walked into that town…

Creepy Crawlers: Part Six

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 29, 2014 in Creepy Crawlers

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
