RSS
Aside
29 Sep

Haunted House Part Twelve

Part One, Part TwoPart Three, Part FourPart FivePart SixPart SevenPart Eight, Part NinePart TenPart Eleven, Part ThirteenPart FourteenPart FifteenPart SixteenPart SeventeenPart Eighteen, Part Nineteen

Luckily the ghost warned me with plenty of time to spare. As the giant ball made of stone flew toward me like a cannon ball I jumped in the air doing a barrel roll right over it. What surprised me was that when the ball hit the hedges it didn’t go right through. Instead it bounced off and rolled right back towards me. It was going a lot slower this time so I just moved out of the way and let it roll by. I looked around and tried to find out where the ball came from. There was no obvious source.

“Do try to watch out,” Jonathan suggested. “There are plenty more surprises.”

“I’m looking forward to it,” I said with so much fake enthusiasm.

I walked through the maze making left turns and right turns, not really sure where I was going and receiving no help from the ghost sent to help me.

“So what’s your story?” I asked him.

“It is such a long one,” he exclaimed.

“Something tells me that we are going to have plenty of time.”

“I was once a respected man of the community, from upstate New York. But now I am dead.”

“I thought you said your story was a long one?”

“Ha. I guess not. One can never really tell, can they?”

“You are a real pain in the ass. Do you think you could just leave and let me go through this on my own?”

Jonathan stopped walking and looked at me. “I don’t think I can do that.”

“I was afraid you would say that. Will you at least tell me where to go?”

“Wherever you feel is best.”

I grunted in anger and walked right through him.

“I never!” he shouted.

I had no idea where to go, and I had no idea how far I had even gotten into the maze. Jonathan followed right next to me and didn’t say a word but he kept humming a melody that I couldn’t quite recognize. Either way I hated this ghost with every fiber of my being.

I wanted to find Roy and get the heck out of the house because I suspected that whatever was waiting for me at the end of this labyrinth was not pretty. Of course it wasn’t going to be pretty. When were the things I faced ever not ugly? Never. That’s when.

“I’ve always liked this maze,” Jonathan told me.

“How long have you been here?” I asked him.

“Who really has the time? Mmmm?”

“Has the time to do what? Keep time? Do you realize how stupid that sounds?”

“It sounds pretty normal to me.”

“Well, maybe because you’re an idiot.”

“Name calling is beneath you, Wes.”

“No. Not really.”

“Touché.”

When I first left the house I could have sworn that the sun was out, but now I realized that dusk was upon us.

“When did it get dark out?” I asked him.

“Just now,” he replied.

“Wasn’t it light out when we first walked out here?”

“Yes.”

“What time was it?”

“Around 11 am.”

I stopped, not really believing what he just said.

“What time is it now?” I dared to ask.

“Seven at night,” he answered me.

“What? We’ve been walking around for eight hours?”

“Yes.”

“But how?”

“That’s the beauty of this maze. It will feel like minutes but it has really been hours. You could be in here for a very long time…”

Haunted House: Part Twelve

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 29, 2014 in Haunted House

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
