RSS
Aside
24 Sep

Haunted House Part Eleven

Part OnePart TwoPart Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part Nine, Part Ten, Part TwelvePart ThirteenPart FourteenPart FifteenPart SixteenPart SeventeenPart Eighteen, Part Nineteen

So mazes are fun right? You start at the beginning, try to work your way through and solve the puzzle, and then you reach the end. Ta da! You have accomplished something. Wrong. They are not fun because they make you feel stupid that you can’t just get from A to B without jumping through hoops and running into walls. To top it off the maze I was about to walk through was full of fun surprises.

I headed through the entrance of the maze, which was a giant metal gate. Each side of the walkway leading to the maze from the house to the gate was lined with hedges that were almost as high as the house. Right at the entrance, the maze split to the left and to the right.

“Awesome,” I muttered to myself.

“Most definitely,” said a ghost, who appeared right in front of me.

Instinct kicked in and I roundhouse kicked the guy in the head, but my foot went right through.

“’Ello,” he said.

I looked at him for a second. “Did you just seriously say ‘ello’?”

“Yes, sorry. My voice gave out for a second there. Hello.”

“How could your voice give out? You’re a ghost.”

“I am a ghost, but I am not dead, you know?” He seemed very offended.

“Yes you are.”

“Tomayto, tomahto. I will be your guide through this maze.”

I was a little confused.

“That creepy voice sent a guide to help me?”

“Yes.”

“Why?”

The ghost simply shrugged his shoulders.

“I am Jonathan,” he informed me.

“Wes,” I offered.

“I know.”

I wasn’t really sure why the voice, who was more than likely trying to kill me, sent someone who could help me get through this maze. It didn’t make that much sense to me.

“Okay,” I said. “You are my guide, so guide me. Where do I go?”

“I don’t know,” he replied.

“What do you mean you don’t know? Where do I go?”

“Where do you think you should go?”

“I’m starting to understand why the voice sent you.”

I didn’t bother to answer Jonathan’s question and went to the right.

“I wouldn’t go that way,” he said. This ghost was really going to make this walk even more miserable.

“Would you say that I should never go that way?” I asked him. Sometimes I just can’t help myself.

“I wouldn’t say never. I would just say that right now, this time, I wouldn’t go that way.”

“If I could punch you in the face I would.”

“That would be counterproductive. Let us move on.”

“Oh please.”

“That’s the spirit.” Obviously, sarcasm was lost on this guy. Or maybe he was ignoring it.

I headed to the left, going the direction that the ghost implied I go down. I stopped for a second to make sure Jonathan wasn’t going to say anything but he just smiled at me.

When I reached the end of the pathway I turned to the right. The ghost was in front of me.

“Look out,” he said.

“What?” I asked.

He moved to the right and a large, stone ball headed straight for me…

Haunted House: Part Eleven

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 24, 2014 in Haunted House

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
