RSS
Aside
22 Sep

Haunted House Part Ten

Part OnePart TwoPart Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part Nine, Part ElevenPart TwelvePart ThirteenPart FourteenPart FifteenPart SixteenPart SeventeenPart Eighteen, Part Nineteen

It felt kind of stupid. I have a large group of ghosts standing in front of me and I say hi. I’m sure there were a bunch of other things that I could have said instead but that was the only thing that I could think of. Think of me what you want but you face off against a bunch of ghosts and see what you say.

They all just stood there and stared at me, like a bunch of creeps. I didn’t see the little girl that first appeared but I’m sure that she was hiding in the group somewhere.

“So you guys all look a little angry,” I said.

They remained silent.

“Does anyone feel like sharing why you are here?” I asked them.

They still remained silent.

“This is extremely awkward,” I pointed out. “If any of you want to do anything; speak, attack me, moved one step, that would be great.”

Nothing.

“Tough crowd.”

“Be silent, Wes,” the voice from before whispered.

“Who said that?” I asked.

“I said, be silent.”

In interest of staying alive I listened.

“I am glad to have finally met you,” the voice continued. “I have heard so much about you.”

That was very encouraging.

“I have your friend,” he informed me. “If you wish to keep him alive then you will follow my instructions.”

“What if I don’t wish to keep him alive?” I asked.

One of the ghosts darted out at me and knocked me into the wall. It took a few seconds for me to start breathing again.

“Anything else you want to say?” the voice asked me.

“I’m good,” I choked.

“In the room in which you stand lay a pathway. Find that pathway and it will guide you further on your journey.”

“Seriously?”

“I beg your pardon?”

“My ‘journey’? I’ll get right on that Gandalf.”

I don’t know why I open my mouth, knowing that I will pay for it. Another ghost threw me up into the ceiling. Hitting the floor definitely didn’t feel all that great.

“Time is of the essence,” the voice warned me.

All of the ghosts disappeared. Who was the voice? Was it William or something else? Either way I could feel the shivers running up my spine with each syllable he spoke.

I looked around the room a hundred times—maybe more like three—and couldn’t find anything of importance. It was just an ordinary room with an ordinary arrangement of bookshelves. I thought back to Roy’s original thought when we were in that room. Maybe there was some way to open a doorway behind one of the bookshelves.

I walked over to the one that we were at before because if there was a moving bookcase this is the one that would make the most sense. It wasn’t against a wall where I knew there was another room behind. I scanned through the books to see if any of them seemed out of the ordinary but none of them did. There had to be one. I tore all the books off but all of them just fell off. There was nothing obvious, but there had to be something in that room otherwise the voice wouldn’t have said so.

That’s when it caught my attention. On one of the other bookshelves one of them look out of place. It was very subtle but it was made out of wood. Sure enough when I pulled on it the bookshelf swung open, revealing a tunnel behind.

“I have a bad feeling about this,” I said to myself.

I followed the tunnel for a good mile. It twisted and turned, and went up and down, until it finally led me outside. I was standing at the beginning of the biggest hedge maze I had ever seen. I was about to embark on the most un-fun maze of terror ever…

Haunted House: Part Ten

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 22, 2014 in Haunted House

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
