RSS
Aside
05 Sep

Haunted House Part Five

Part OnePart TwoPart Three, Part Four, Part SixPart SevenPart Eight, Part NinePart TenPart ElevenPart TwelvePart ThirteenPart FourteenPart FifteenPart SixteenPart SeventeenPart Eighteen, Part Nineteen

The creepy child was heading straight for us and there was really nothing that we could do about it. It wasn’t like we could hit her with iron or salt and she would just wither away. Nope. Instead we could either stand there and take it like men or run away. I felt like running away. Unfortunately Roy wasn’t thinking the same thing.

I turned around to run away like a little girl and ran right into him. We both crashed into the ground, hitting the cement hard. He yelped, again, and I let out a gasp of air. Before he could start yelling at me I jumped up and braced myself for impact, but there was no one there. The little girl had disappeared as ghosts often do.

I was angry, I mean really mad. I hadn’t dealt with ghosts since the last time I told you about them and I had really hoped that would have been the last time. But that, of course, was just wishful thinking. People die every day and there was nothing that I could do about that.

“What the hell?” Roy complained.

“Sorry, again,” I replied.

“You went to run? Seriously?”

“There was a ghost running right at us.”

“It was a little girl.”

“But she was a ghost!”

“Are you telling me that you are going to run from ghosts?”

“What would you do? You can’t exactly fight them.”

“I wouldn’t run.”

“Well, if you did then we wouldn’t have collided.”

He punched me in the shoulder. Not that hard but enough to make a point.

“You’re a paladin,” he said. “Act like it.”

I let out an exasperated sigh.

“You feel better now?” I asked him.

“A little, yeah,” he responded.

“Can we look around now?”

“Yeah.”

“Thank you.”

We spent a couple of minutes looking around and spent the time searching quietly, still angry at one another. I didn’t like to hold grudges so I hoped that Roy was the same way.

“Who do you think that girl was?” he asked me.

“I don’t know,” I admitted. “I’m thinking that maybe we should have done a smidgen of research.”

“We kind of dropped the ball on that one.”

“That’s so stupid. I always research.” That was a lie. But I wanted to look more competent than I really was. I kind of suck, don’t I?

We were walking around some sort of lab looking room, when it hit me. Remember when I told you that when we had first arrived I got that really bad feeling, like death was around us? Well, I felt it again. I don’t know what it was or where it came from but I certainly didn’t like it.

I looked over at Roy and he didn’t seem that affected by whatever it was.

“What?” he asked when he noticed that I was looking at him.

“Nothing,” I lied.

“You feeling okay?”

“Yeah I’m fine. You?”

“I’m good.”

“Great.”

“Yeah.”

I headed toward the door and left the room, satisfied that there was nothing in there. When I walked through the next door I started to get a feeling that I knew why there was a ghost in the house and that there was probably going to be a lot more. It looked like the room was some sort of torture chamber. We were in a lot of trouble…

Haunted House: Part Five

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 5, 2014 in Haunted House

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
