RSS
Aside
27 Aug

Haunted House Part Two

Part One, Part Three, Part FourPart FivePart SixPart SevenPart Eight, Part NinePart TenPart ElevenPart TwelvePart ThirteenPart FourteenPart FifteenPart SixteenPart SeventeenPart Eighteen, Part Nineteen

The house was about 15 minutes from the coffee shop and there was literally nothing else around it. Nothing except for woods and the feel of death, that is.

We got out of the cars and headed towards the front gate, which was what you would typically expect in this scenario: a brick post and a metal gate and fence with arrowheads on top surrounding the property. It was rusted with some sort of family crest built into it and it looked so, so creepy. I couldn’t see the house yet because of all the trees. It’s killing me because this definitely reminds me of something.

The three of us met by the front gate and I could tell that Rita felt uneasy. Her hands were fidgeting and her eyes were shifting back and forth. I thought it was funny but then again I haven’t feared for my life in a very long time.

“So this is it?” Roy asked. It was a redundant question.

“Yes,” Rita replied.

Roy and I just stared at it for a few seconds.

“You don’t plan on backing out, do you?” she asked us.

“Not at all,” I assured her. “This is nothing we haven’t dealt with before.”

“How old are you?”

“I’m 22.”

“You look 17.” She seemed unconfident in my ability to do what I can. She was right about my age and I understand her concerns but she could still shut up.

“I get that all the time.”

She still seemed unsure. She didn’t have a problem before so I’m not sure why it mattered now.

“Well,” she began, “I’ll let you gentlemen in from here.”

“Not walking us to the door?” I asked.

“No. This is as far as I go.” She opened the gate, looked down the driveway for a second and then walked briskly back to her car. She left a trail of dust in her wake and within seconds she was gone.

“That’s comforting,” I said.

“Extremely,” Roy agreed. “I’ll go grab the car.”

“No. That’s my car. I’ll get it.”

“We should have taken mine.”

“Maybe if you didn’t get hurt by a couple of werewolves and vampires you’d have your car, but we had that towed to my storage unit.”

“Just get the car.”

I got my car, stopped next to him so he could get in, and then headed towards the house.

The driveway was long and weaved back and forth like a snake. It was flat with trees lined up and down the entire thing. It took us two minutes to actually reach the house. The oversized mansion matched the look of the gate: creepy. A part of me did feel like turning back but I didn’t. Of course I didn’t.

As we stepped out of the car I felt an odd sense of fear and hatred wash over me, like nothing I’ve ever felt before. I’m not really sure what that was but I definitely didn’t like it.

“You okay?” Roy asked me. He must have noticed something on my face.

“Yeah,” I lied. “I’m fine.”

“Just don’t throw up or something. We can do this.”

“Shut up.”

We headed for the front door and I started to feel regret, like we should turn around and run. I couldn’t do that, though. But something definitely felt wrong…

Haunted House: Part Two

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 27, 2014 in Haunted House

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
