RSS
Aside
18 Aug

Under-Dwelling Part Six

Part OnePart TwoPart ThreePart Four, Part FivePart Seven

The unsuspecting man was pulled down the tunnel and ripped around a corner. After my three seconds of hesitation I took off after them. At least we now knew the monster was definitely down there and it wasn’t sleeping. We were never going to be that lucky.

I picked up phone and called Roy. Don’t worry about how well I can run and talk on the phone. I assure you my ability to multitask is unmatched and I have a great attention to detail.

“Did you find it?” he asked me right away.

“More like it found me,” I replied. “There was a guy sleeping down here and when I was talking to him the thing just snatched him right up.”

“There was a guy sleeping down here? What is it with this city?”

“I don’t know. All I do know is that as soon as we are done here I am leaving.”

“I’ll second that. Where are you?”

I gave him a quick overview of the route I had taken.

“Okay,” he said. “I’ll start heading that way.”

“See you soon,” I replied right before I ended the call.

I had lost any sight of where the monster and the guy had headed but all I had to do was follow the screaming. I just hoped that I didn’t get confused about where the sound was coming from and head down the wrong tunnel. It wouldn’t be the first time that had happened.

The mantis was pulling him so quick that the sound of his screams was becoming distant echoes. I was losing them, quickly. I don’t have a whole lot of experience with mantises so I don’t know if they have any sort of ritual before they eat people or if it just happens right away. I hope for that guy’s sake that they like to prepare their food first.

Eventually the echoes became so quiet that I could barely hear them. There was no telling where the monster had taken the guy and I was too slow to catch up. Hey, give me a little slack will you? Let’s see you try and keep up with one of those things. Yeah, I didn’t think so.

Anyway, I stopped running and started to look around for any clue that might lead me to where they had headed. There was nothing. So, I just kept running in the direction that I thought they had gone and hoped for the best.

I looked down and my feet were dirty as hell. Even my pants were beyond disgusting. I was definitely going to have to throw these away and buy some new shoes and pants. Not a big deal. I kind of have an unlimited supply of money. Oh, right, the monster.

After wandering around for a while Roy finally found me.

“You lost them?” he asked.

“Yeah,” I replied.

“How?”

“Those things are fast.”

“I thought you were, too?”

“I am. Doesn’t mean I’m the fastest creature on the planet.”

He just shook his head.

“Watch it or I’ll kill you and leave you in this sewage,” I threatened.

“I bet,” he said, laughing it off.

“We need to find them.”

“I agree.”

All of a sudden there was a horrific scream and a loud crunch. You know when you hear that sound that either makes your teeth hurt, or you can feel it, or just generally makes you feel sick? That’s what that sounded like. I almost felt like throwing up. I don’t do that, though. I haven’t thrown up since I was a little kid.

“What was that?” Roy asked me.

“You know what that was,” I said.

“It came from that way.” He pointed down one of the tunnels.

“So we head toward the bone chilling sound then?”

He just nodded his head.

“Cool,” I sighed.

We headed for the sound of the man that had definitely just been eaten…

Under-Dwelling: Part Six

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 18, 2014 in Under-Dwelling

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
