RSS
Aside
13 Aug

Under-Dwelling Part Five

Part OnePart TwoPart ThreePart Four, Part SixPart Seven

It was an alligator. There was actually an alligator in the sewer. I never thought that I would actually see that. It wasn’t a big one but we couldn’t just leave it there either. Any unsuspecting victim might wander into it and get seriously injured.

“Seriously?” I said.

“I didn’t see that coming,” Roy admitted.

“Why is there an alligator?” The thing was hissing at us but it hadn’t moved yet, so we kept our distance.

“I don’t know, but what do we do about it?”

“We can’t just leave it here.”

“We can’t call animal control either. They’re not going to believe that we found an alligator in the sewer. They’ll think we’re crazy.”

“Maybe we are crazy.”

“Speak for yourself.”

I stared at the alligator and it stared right back at me.

“We can’t just leave it here,” I repeated.

“Then what do you suggest?” he asked me.

Five minutes later we had the thing dragged out of the sewer and zipped tied the legs together and the mouth shut. Oh yeah, and we tranquilized it. Apparently Roy has things like that. We left it out on the street and called animal control. That was their problem now.

We headed back in the sewer. Of course we had to head back in there. There was no way that the alligator was the one that was killing everyone. That was just a random coincidence. It was definitely a mantis.

It didn’t make sense to head down the same tunnel that we found the alligator because if the mantis were down that way it probably would have eaten the reptile. More than likely it was down one if the other tunnels.

“Well,” I began as we were standing at the intersection, “should we split up?”

“We were working alone well before we met each other so I think we can survive,” Roy pointed out.

“True. I’ll head this way.” I went down the tunnel I originally wanted to go down, leaving Roy to go the other way.

“Stay in touch,” he said and then disappeared.

Being in a sewer by yourself is really creepy. I’m not really sure how the Ninja Turtles manage to live in a place like this. It was really gross.

Ten minutes had gone by and there was no sign of the thing anywhere. I checked in with Roy and he hadn’t seen anything either. I was starting to think that maybe the alligator was the one that was killing everyone. It was a fleeting thought.

I saw something move in the tunnel up ahead. I couldn’t make out what it was from where I was standing, so cautiously I stalked forward with my axes at each side. The creature was lying down. That was good. I could end this thing quickly and be done with it. I was afraid there were probably more of them hiding somewhere.

I was a few feet away from the thing, which was covered by some sort of blanket, when it grunted. It didn’t sound like a mantis. I ripped the blanket off the thing and there was a man underneath it.

“What the hell is the matter with you?” he asked me. “I’m trying to sleep down here.”

“I can see that,” I replied. “Don’t you know that it’s dangerous down here?”

“What? Like there are alligators in the sewer.”

“You know my friend and I just dragged one out of here, alive.”

“Yeah right.”

What is with this town? First there was a dude in an alley calling it his yard. Then there was a mid-sized alligator living in the sewer. Now there is a dude living in the sewer. This city was awful.

“I’m serious,” I tried. “You should get out of here.”

“I don’t think so,” he said as he stood up. “I’ve been living under here for ten years and ain’t never had a problem.”

Suddenly, something grabbed him and yanked him down the tunnel so fast I barely had time to see it…

Under-Dwelling: Part Five

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 13, 2014 in Under-Dwelling

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
