RSS
Aside
24 Jul

King of the Hill Part Six

Part OnePart TwoPart ThreePart Four, Part Five, Part SevenPart Eight

There I was at the end of my life. Just kidding. Did you really think that I was going to die? How would I be writing all of this down if I was dead? Every time I have to remind you. Maybe I should stop reminding you. Redundancy is annoying, isn’t it?

The minotaur held his newly acquired spear on my right shoulder, threating to take off my head.

“Goodbye, Wes Parker,” he said.

“Goodbye,” I echoed.

As it swung the spear at my head I rolled backward and swung my axe up. I managed to connect with the minotaur and the end result was definitely not pretty. He was dead. I still had the rest of the monsters to deal with, though. I had once chance of getting away from them.

I threw my hands up and let out a beam of light, temporarily blinding them and giving myself a window of escape. Before I ran, I chopped down three monster, thinning their numbers ever so slightly. And then I ran. I couldn’t just run down to the bottom of the mountain and run away because I had to keep them away from people. Also I needed to be where Kelly’s team expected me to be. I hoped that she would understand the severity of the situation and send enough people to handle it.

Tree after tree I passed as I distanced myself from the angry mob of monsters. I was clearly outmatched. I knew that I could take down a lot of them but in the end I would be on the losing side. I had never faced a force so great before. It was a little overwhelming. It wasn’t going to stop me, however.

I must have reached closer to the bottom of the mountain than I realized because all of a sudden I found myself surrounded by a bunch of agents. They all had their weapons aimed directly at me so I raised my hands up in surrender. There was somewhere under 50 of them. It was a lot but I had the feeling that it wasn’t going to be enough.

“Don’t shoot,” I pleaded, jokingly. “I’m not the bad guy here.”

“Guns down,” said a female voice. It was Kelly. She walked up to me wearing a leather, Black-Widow looking outfit. She looked hot. The outfit was extremely impractical but I didn’t really care about that. I wasn’t the one who was going to have to fight in it.

“You are looking great,” I cracked.

“Really?” she asked me.

“Yup.”

“Focus, Wes.”

“I’m focused.”

“Where are they?”

“I’m not completely sure,” I admitted. “I sort of lost them.”

“How did you lose them?” She seemed mad. Why would she be mad?

I stared at her for a second, appalled at the fact that she would be angry at me for losing the monsters.

“Well,” I began, “to avoid getting pummeled to death and then possibly eaten, I ran for my life. I had no idea when you guys would be getting here.”

“Are you telling me that the great Wes Parker, Slayer of Dragons, can’t handle a couple of monsters?” she asked me, mockingly. Just a reminder, in the last issue I fought and killed two dragons.

“Very funny.”

That’s when they showed up. All of the monsters were up the hill, looking down at us.

“Whoa,” said Kelly. “You weren’t kidding.”

“I never do,” I replied. That was a bold face lie. I always joke.

It was a classic standoff. Both groups just stood there, waiting for one of the other to do something. I looked back and forth between the monsters and Kelly’s team.

“I don’t like to play waiting games,” I informed them. Then I took off towards the monsters, with Kelly and her agents in tow. The monsters shared our enthusiasm and started charging toward us. This was really going to be interesting…

King of the Hill: Part Six

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 24, 2014 in King of the Hill

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
