RSS
Aside
21 Jul

King of the Hill Part Five

Part OnePart TwoPart Three, Part FourPart Six, Part SevenPart Eight

I spun around slowly, trying to find some gap to escape through, but there was nothing. I was literally trapped. All of the monsters moved closer and closer but when they were about 15 feet away from me they stopped. Waiting patiently, I expected for them to attack me at any second but one of the minotaur stepped forward.

“Wes Parker,” it said. I think it was a he. His voice was deep and raspy.

“How do you guys always know who I am?” I asked.

“You’re the only paladin left.”

“Good point.”

“You’ve stumbled into the wrong place.”

“I kind of got that impression about five minutes ago. What are you guys doing up here anyway? I’ve never seen any of you guys gathered together like this. Except for the werewolves and the vampires I ran into a few weeks back.”

“That is not a concern of yours.”

“Well, it kind of is. I sort of have to kill you all.”

They all started laughing. Some of it sounded like laughter. The rest of it sounded like a mixture of barking and choking.

“You are in no position to kill anyone.”

I just sighed.

“Yeah,” I began, “I guess not. But even if you guys do kill me I am going to take down some of you with me. Plus I have an uncanny ability to get out of bad situation. I’ve dealt with worse than this.”

“You have a big mouth,” he told me. “I think I will take care of you myself.”

I smiled. “Come and get me.” Was that lame? I don’t think that was too lame.

The monster charged me with its spear held high. It took a quick, massive swing at me but I ducked and rolled out of the way. As I came up I swung my axe and cut the minotaur’s leg. It howled, more in anger than in pain, and then thrust his spear down at me. I hopped backwards to avoid being impaled. With speed and strength I kicked the spear, breaking in right in half.

“Is this the best you’ve got?” I asked. I never really do learn to keep my mouth shut. I wonder if it had to do with me witnessing my parents’ death and having to learn to live my life without them or if it was just my natural progression as a teenager? Either way I was never like this before that happened. I never talk about what happened to my parents much but it really does piss me off.

Anyhow, I must have forgotten that I was surrounded by a large group of monsters. One of them, I didn’t get the chance to figure out who, whacked me in the back of the head, hard. I toppled to the ground. That was twice I took a blow there in less than ten minutes. I don’t know how I haven’t gotten a concussion at some point in my life. Maybe I have.

I went to stand back up when another monster came in to attack me, but I was ready for it so I kicked myself up and cut the thing’s head off. Another one was right behind it though and kicked me right in the neck. Have you ever been kicked in the neck? It sucks.

Struggling to breath I stumbled to the ground again and that’s when another monster decided to pummel me right in the stomach. These a-holes were letting me have it.

“Like I said, Wes,” the minotaur began, “you hiked up the wrong mountain.”

“You did,” I coughed. He kicked me in the head, really sending me spinning.

That was it, my final moments. I was surround by who knows how many monsters, with a giant half bull, half man standing over me, spear in hand.

“This is the end for you,” he said.

I pulled myself up into a kneeling position. Well folks, this was it. There was no way that I was going to get out of this one…

King of the Hill: Part Five

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 21, 2014 in King of the Hill

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
