RSS
Aside
20 Jun

It Happened in Vegas Part Eleven

Part OnePart TwoPart ThreePart FourPart FivePart SixPart SevenPart EightPart NinePart Ten, Part TwelvePart ThirteenPart Fourteen

We both watched as the dragon took the police officer away. That was another person that I was going to have to save. Hopefully the thing will bring the guy right up to the roof I was just at. That would make things a lot easier.

Julie had turned white and couldn’t seem to close her mouth. Granted anyone who didn’t know about monsters would be a little more than freaked out.

“What the hell was that?” she yelled.

“That was a dragon,” I informed her. “I think.”

“A what?”

“A dragon.”

“A dragon? How? What?” She couldn’t even voice what she was thinking.

“Yeah. So, monsters are real.”

“Did that thing take my dad?”

“It took me too.”

She just let out guttural sobs.

“It’s okay,” I promised. “He’s unharmed. He’s a little drunk but not hurt.”

“We have to go save him,” she said.

“He’s okay right now. I really need to go save that cop.”

“What about my dad?”

I looked at her and found myself in quite the predicament. I really needed to go save that cop but I couldn’t just leave her dad or her alone. The one good thing was if the dragon did bring the officer to the top of this building then I had to go in there anyway. That was the first place I was going to look so it kind of worked out.

“Let’s get in there then,” I said.

She didn’t wait and just headed for the building. It was completely boarded up and not accessible, but thankfully I’m me. I could get in.

“How do we get in here?” she asked as she was trying to pull some of the wood off. “We need to get in there now.” She was brave. Anyone else might only think about themselves and try to run but she didn’t. She wanted to run right into building that could ultimately lead to her death. This girl was awesome.

“Step aside,” I said. In a totally non chauvinistic way, of course. I just needed her to move so I could get us in there.

I grabbed the boards and ripped them off like they were Styrofoam.

“How did you do that?” she asked me.

“I work out,” I lied. Who has time for that? I get to look like this without even trying. Jealous? Oh yeah. You can’t really see me, can you? That’s a shame. Oh, sorry. Back to the story.

I kicked open the door and we both headed in. The place was a complete mess. There was debris everywhere. She took out her cellphone out and used it as a flashlight. I suppose I should have a flashlight on hand but I never really need one. I’m sure I’ve told you I can see in the dark better than a human.

“He could be anywhere in here,” she said.

“We’ll find him,” I said.

“Dad!” she yelled out loud.

“Don’t do that. At all. No loud noise unless you want that thing to find us. It could be up on the roof right now.”

“Sorry.”

“It’s okay.”

We continued to walk through the building, looking for her dad. The first two floors were empty. On the third floor we heard something shuffling in one of the rooms.

“What was that?” Julie asked, grabbing me as she did so.

I crept forward with Julie right behind me. When we were no more than a few feet away from where the sound came from, Julie’s dad jumped out from behind an old desk. I jumped, so what?

“Dad!” Julie bellowed. She ran up to him and wrapped her arms around him.

“What are you doing here?” he asked her.

“He’s been helping me.” She pointed to me.

His face turned red with anger. “Why would you bring her in here?”

“It’s okay,” I assured him. “The dragon wouldn’t come in here.”

I hate being wrong. I’m not ignorant enough to pretend like I’m not. There was a thump off to my right. I turned to look down the hallway and sure enough, there was the dragon, staring right at me…

It Happened in Vegas: Part Eleven

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 20, 2014 in It Happened in Vegas

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
