RSS
Aside
18 Jun

It Happened in Vegas Part Ten

Part OnePart TwoPart ThreePart FourPart FivePart SixPart SevenPart Eight, Part Nine, Part ElevenPart TwelvePart Thirteen, Part Fourteen

There I was, falling to ground, heading to my inevitable death. They say that when you die your entire life flashes before your eyes. It didn’t. That must have meant that I was going to survive. Of course I survived. I don’t know why I have to remind you but if I was dead I wouldn’t be able to tell you about this story.

So, it turns out I wasn’t going to hit the ground. No. The dragon didn’t catch me at the last second. I bounced off a balcony and then landed on the ground. I didn’t plummet to hard pavement below, but hitting that cement overhang didn’t feel too good either. There was no doubt that something inside me had broken.

I was lying on the ground, moaning and groaning like a little baby and luckily no one saw me fall. Either there was no one around or they were all too drunk. I looked at the building that we were just on top of and could see that it was abandoned, which made sense. The dragon wouldn’t want to be nesting at a populated spot.

“Wes?” I heard a female voice. I turned and saw Julie. Great. I’ll admit that despite not wanting her around right then my heart still jumped.

“Hey,” I moaned.

“Why are you lying on the ground?”

“Just taking a break.” Ha, get it? There’s a little Arnold one-liner for you.

“Are you okay?”

“I’ve been better.”

I stood up and she came over to help me.

“What happened to you before?” she asked. “I thought you took off on me.”

“I told you I wouldn’t,” I reassured her. “I thought I saw your dad so I got excited and dropped my phone.”

“So you didn’t find him?”

“Well, I did.”

She looked back and forth, trying to find her dad.

“Where is he?” she asked.

“Um,” I stumbled. I wasn’t really sure how much I should tell her. “He’s in there.” I pointed to the building.

She just shook her head. “That place is all boarded up. How did you get in there?”

“We came from the roof.” I just spit it out, without even thinking about.

“Why were you on the roof?”

“We were sort of taken up there.”

She let out a long sigh and she seemed even more worried than she already was. I didn’t really blame her, especially considering I knew that there was a dragon flying around. Where was that monster anyway?

“Who took you?” she asked. “How did you get away? Why did you leave him?”

“I didn’t,” I said. “I was sort of knocked off the roof.”

“You were knocked off of the roof?”

“Yeah.”

She just started to chuckle.

“I knew you were crazy,” she said. “I shouldn’t have trusted you from the beginning. Who knocked you off the building? Who took you?”

“It wasn’t really a who, but more of a what,” I admitted.

“What are you two kids doing here?” a police offer asked as he approached us. Uh, oh.

He was walking towards us slowly and he looked angry. I just wanted to flash his brain so he would forget this and we could go save Julie’s dad, but I couldn’t just do that in front of Julie either. It was a sticky situation.

“I asked you a question,” he stated.

We never got a chance to answer him. The dragon came swooping in and yanked him into the air. Julie literally jumped in the air and let out a short scream.

“That’s what knocked me off the roof,” I said…

It Happened in Vegas: Part Ten

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 18, 2014 in It Happened in Vegas

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
